Nearly in Brazil!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
November 19th 2011
Published: November 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last night in El CalafateLast night in El CalafateLast night in El Calafate

Last night together with Mel. There was a gaucho festival on that night, a fitting end to our time together seeing as we met because of horses.
Wow wow wow!!! I feel so lucky, I have seen so many amazing things on this trip and today have just come back from the Iguazu Falls. But first to recap since I spoke to you last, I´ve just uploaded the whale and glacier pictures so I´m hopefully going to get up to date whilst I´ve got access to a fairly decent computer.
So I headed to Bariloche and that is one of the most beautiful places I have been to, I think I could have found my place...... It´s in the Lake District of Argentina, huge lakes surrounded by mountains and the town turns into a ski resort in the winter. There has been a huge volcano errupting somewhere in Chile since I´ve been travelling and the ash has been affecting flights and visibility for months. The view was a bit hazy when I was in Mendoza but luckily there was nothing in Bariloche, Mel arrived 3 days after I left and she couldn´t see anything so I was lucky. I went horse riding for the day to take me up the mountain, was feeling quite lazy and wanted to be back on a horse. Views were spectacular. I then went to call on Merisa, who you may recall I met on the bus in Peurto Madryn and she called the school where she teaches and I went and saw the head teacher, who says to contact her in January and if I am still interested should be able to give me some part time hours teaching children and I should be able to get some private teaching work. Bariloche is quite an expensive place to live though as it is quite touristy but I would love to live there for a bit so you never know...... Then I went back to spend the evening with Merisa and she cooked me a lovely meal, it was lovely to have a home cooked meal.
So then the next day (Tuesday I think, you really lose track of the days) I jumped on the bus for 23 hours to Cordoba, saw the golden arches and the size of the city and got the next bus out of there to here, Puerto Iguazu. I was lucky and only had to wait half an hour at Cordoba, enough time for a freshen up and then another 22 hours! You really don´t feel like you
Last night in El CalafateLast night in El CalafateLast night in El Calafate

Competition to see who can stay on an unbroken horse for the longest, sort of like a bucking bronco show
have been travelling that long, food, films, reclining seats so not to shabby (though I was a bit shabby after that long but nothing that a shower and a beer didn´t fix!)
So yesterday I went to Brazil to see the falls from the Brazilian side and today I have seen them from the Argentinian side and that brings up back to wow wow wow!! Photos and videos really don´t do them justice and you are about to be bored with more waterfall photos than you probably thing necessary, but I don´t care, sorry folks!, as they were incredible. So I will leave you with that, tomorrow I am mostly by the pool and then heading into Brazil!
Love to you all, miss you all
PS morning Jennifer Weddell!!!
Kisses
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Heading to BarilocheHeading to Bariloche
Heading to Bariloche

23 hours, no problem!
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

We arrived just in time for the hostel´s asado, bbq where the steak is gorgeous!
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

The view from my hostel room every morning.
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

Got my ears back again!
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

A bit dark, but dinner with Merisa.
BarilocheBariloche
Bariloche

Bye bye Bariloche, I really hope that I see you again one day. There´s someone waiting to use the computer so I´ll publish this one now and update with the falls pictures asap. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


21st November 2011

Helloo!
Morning my lovely - yes, just finished my brekkie whilst catching up on your travels. Bariloche looks stunning, I'll come visit if you end up staying there. Love you miss you xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb