Disaster strikes...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Salta
May 5th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Disaster strikes.......

Ok, so from Mendoza we umm..ed and ahh..ed whether to cross to Santiago (Chile – the country not the weather! ) or head up north in Argentina and investigate more wine regions.......and so we headed north h!!!
First stop was Tucuman – to be honest not too much to write home about, but I needed a break as we had been on a bus for 14 hours and I wanted to catch a glimpse of the royal wedding......I know the worst republican ever, but I wanted to check out the dress!!! Anyway this place had a nice central square and we even saw some protests going on, we then headed north again to the quaint (and my favourite spot so far in s America) little village of Cafayate. It is total wine country and was beautiful, roads are lined with vineyards and the red mountains make for a spectacular backdrop. We stayed at cute hostel and made friends with an ozzy couple also on an extended honeymoon, so next day we agreed to do a hike to some nearby waterfalls with them......5 hours later we made it – it was really cool and we were like kids jumping from boulder to boulder trying to get up stream!

Next day, after not drinking for a whole 24 hours (this is the first time in the whole trip, apart from when Danny had malaria!) (I really am my mother’s daughter – just kidding mum!) we decided to go on another bike wine tour. It was brill, this time just the two of us, it was sunny, the tasters were actually all free – bit dangerous but hey, and the place was serene. We decided……ok….I decided that we should treat ourselves to a posh(er) lunch and we sat in a gorgeous hotel, looking out at the mountains sipping local sparkling wine…..loved it!
So from Cafayate we headed north again to a place called Salta. As soon as we got there we explored the town, again another nice plaza de Independencia (main square) but not much to see. We decided to take a cable car up to the top on the mountain for a view of the city and we walked down which was good exercise. We then arranged to meet a guy Oli who we had spent some time with in Cafayate for some drinks so all quite chilled. It has become clear to me and Danny that we really are getting old, it seems everyone else is much more party hardy than us and stay out til 4 in the morning, we think we’ve done well if we hit midnight…..oooops!
Ok, so they say that travelling broadens the mind, I think this is true as we have now been to 15 different countries and experienced some very different cultures, from Indian, to Vietnamese, to Massaii worriers, to Malawian villages to softly spoken South Americans. And everyone said that if you can survive travelling as a couple then you’ll be fine as you learn so much about each other, well I am pleased to report that Danny and I are getting on better than ever, no arguments to speak of, apart from when he gets hot and hungry and I’ve not had enough sleep!!! Anyway I thought I knew everything there was to know about Danny, but during a conversation I realized that despite the fact that he has been on an elephant and a camel he had never ever ridden a horse!!!!! So being cheap we worked out a place in Bolivia where we could go, but then my dad mentioned that Argentinean gaucho’s are world famous at horse training……Dad this ended up being an awesome thing otherwise we would have travelled 8 hours each way for what would have been a total disaster….read on.
Ok so not much to do in Salta so we book on a FULL day horse riding trip. We get picked up driven up a winding mountain to a 17th century ranch, all is well. Danny sneezes a few times, we don’t think anything of it. We get on out horses, Danny’s horse is a little boisterous, Danny is not a happy chappy. I am a bit of a natural, think my horse is just very well behaved. Danny getting a bit stressed and is sneezing some more, eyes start to water…..I moan at him cos he is just being grumpy, but he then says he doesn’t feel great, getting a bit wheezy so after about 1.5 hours we head back to the ranch. I get to gallop am happy, think he is over reacting…generally not being a very good wife..on reflection, must try harder!!! (as Bridget Jones would say). Anyway get back to the ranch, Danny takes off his sunglasses and bam he has the most swollen eye ever – he looks like he has done 12 rounds with Frank Bruno – his eye is swollen up (check out the pics) his lip is swelling….I call him Quasimodo ((again must try to be nicer!) any way – we have a bbq then call to return to Salta so we can get him some antihistamine (Fear not – he is fine now…think he felt that he had exhausted the malaria sympathy and wanted some more, or was it because Man U were playing in the Champions league and he wanted to get back to watch the second half?)…..me cynical?!!!!! Danny has declared that he is more likely to give birth, than him ever going on a horse again!
Anyway, I sound like I have been totally horrible to him, I washed all our horse clothes, cooked him a nice tea and I am delighted to say he looks less Quasimodo-ish now!!!
So we have now headed to country number 16 – Chile. Despite the worse immigration system ever we have arrived at San Pedro de Atacama which at first glance seems like a remote wild west town?

The Journey continues………



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



7th May 2011

Ouch!
Ooooo. photo 24 and 25. Poor Danny. Having had odd allergies over this last few years I can fully sympathise. Right that's all you're getting. I am trying hard to believe this comment that you can only party until midnight!! We have finally had rain in the south and delighted .... seems like months and the gardeners and hayfever sufferers among us are really pleased. All well here - invite to THE wedding received. Have made our menu choice and just have to drop the acceptance in to Carrie's mum and dad. We love to receive all your news. Lots of luv Irene and Graham xx
7th May 2011

Poor boy
Even if your wife isn't sympathetic to you your aunty is!!!!! I am having a terrible time with allergies at the moment. My eyes keep swelling up and I have a terrible mark on my neck that makes me look as if Robert has been trying to strangle me. Antihistamines arnt helping - so I certainly feel sorry for you. I cant wear any makeup - so even Carrie has to feel sorry for me!!! lots of love

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb