Hello 2009!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta » Cafayate
January 4th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh my god! What an amazing New Year I had! Everything just seems to be working out perfectly. Had I not forgotten my passport and missed buses etc I would have missed out on so many experiences.

When I said before that I would be happier seeing the stars on NYE instead of dancing I didn´t realise that I could do both!!

Just a quick aside first though. Getting off the beaten track has been great in terms of the people I have met. I have hardly seen any english /australian backpacker types. Nearly everyone I have met recently has been from Argentina which is great.

The hostel I was staying in organised a BBQ for NYE which was really good fun with lots of dancing and eating. At about 1am they whisked us off in a mini bus into a valley where a party had been organised locally.

We literally turned up just as the DJ was arriving with the decks and various other parties of people. The stars were absolutely amazing. I have never seen so many. I just took myself off to a little place on my own for a while and layed on the ground looking at the stars.

Then the music started pumping and it was a full on dance party. As you can imagine I got into the swing of things pretty quickly! I even had a sleep for a while (I am learning to sleep everywhere and anywhere now a days!) and then I woke up and started dancing again just as the sun started to come up.

Until it had started to get light I had no idea where I was. It was bloody spectacular. We were in the middle of a canyon which was 40 million years old! The colours and the rock formations were out of this world. It was such a great place to bring in the new year.

I finally got to bed at about 10am and missed my 2pm trekking (that I had rather ambitiously booked the day before) but I didn´t care. If I had to choose one or the other it would definitely be the party.

The following day I finally made it to Salta! Yipee! The bus journey took about 3 hours through winding roads cut into the mountains. Again the scenery was amazing. Imagine lots of
Having a restHaving a restHaving a rest

Unfortunaltey my battery on my camera died before the sun came up so you will just have to take my word for how spectacular it was.
Ayers Rocks that just go on and on!!

I am now in a really nice hostel in Salta. It is a converted house and I have realised that these are my favourite types. The 3 hostels I had stayed in prior to here were all Hostel Internationals and they tend to have big dorms with no windows. This feels like a house.

When I started this trip I had started to keep a note of everyone that I shared a room with but after about a week I realised it was far too hard. It is crazy though to think about just how many people I have now slept in the same room as. Sometimes it is a room full of boys, sometimes girls. often mixed and everynow and then it might be just me and one other. I am so proud of myself for my new found sleeping skills though. I seem to be able to sleep through everything now!

When I arrived at this hostel yesterday I had a bit of a re-union with a guy I had met in Mendoza. We ended up staying up until about 7am (this may explain why I am sleeping though everything!!). It is really cool to bump into people you have met before and I am sure it will keep happening now that I am on a specific route.

Most people from here are heading straight to Bolivia but I am going to explore a bit more of NW Argentina before I had to the desert in Chile.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0994s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb