When will I ever get to Salta??


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tucumán » Tafí del Valle
December 31st 2008
Published: December 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Drinking Mate with my new friendsDrinking Mate with my new friendsDrinking Mate with my new friends

Pronounced Mat-ay. This is a ritual all over Argentina. The average amount consumed per person is 5kg per year! It goes everywhere with them and it feels like an honour to be invited to share in this ritual.
I could not get a bus with a seat that reclines to the full 180 degrees that I have become acustomed to (God help me when I reach Bolivia) direct to Salta so I thought I would catch a luxury bus to Tucuman and then catch a bus the next day for 3 hours to Salta.

I guess all of this is working out quite well as I am seeing a lot of other places that I would have driven straight past!

I arrived in Tucuman following a pretty good nights sleep. At the age of 31 I have finally perfected the art of sleeping in strange places with noise and commotion in the background!

Tucuman is a nice place actually. It is the 5th largest city in Argentina. You can definitely tell that you have moved north as there is much more of an inca influence here. I first wondered around the city during ´siesta´" time (2-5pm) and it felt wonderful. I then went back out at 6pm and could not believe how many people there were on the streets! It was crazy but good fun and I definitly felt much safer here than in many other places.

Well, in the afternoon in Tucuman I got myself organised and booked and payed for my bus to Salta (again!) and booked the same hostel in Salta as before and payed my deposit (again!). I had a quiet night. Just a couple of beers, a sandwich and some chit chat and was in bed by 12. Somehow the next morning I managed to completely sleep in and woke up at 10.45am which was the exact time my bus was due to leave for Salta! I could not believe that I had missed it again!! I realised that I am obviously not meant to be in Salta just yet and decided to alter my route once again.

Following the advice of the hostel I headed up to the mountains to a lovely place called Taffi Del Valle. It was a beautiful journey up though the mountains to get there and the air was so clean and crisp it was a lovely change.

I met a really nice family who offered to drive me on to my next destination this morning so I ended up going on a bit of a tour with them for about 4 hours this morning to some Inca Ruins and a winery and just exploring the mountains. It couldn´t have worked out better. Again it is yet another story of local argentinians completley going out of their way. They actually live in Salta and have offered for me to meet up with them there (if I ever make it!).

I am now in a small town called Cafayate. It is still hot here but is in the mountains so not as bad as the cities.

It is New Years Eve and at this stage I do not know anyone but it does not bother me at all. Apparently there is a BBQ at our hostel tonight and talk of maybe some NYE thing in the valley under the stars. I hope that happens as that has been my dream of NYE since I have been away (something strange must be happening to me as I want to star gaze rather than dance!!??). What ever though - I really don´t care as life is really pretty good at the moment!

On another note my bag is getting lighter and lighter as (no surprise) I am leaving a trail of my possessions
Quilme RuinsQuilme RuinsQuilme Ruins

I could have lied and said it was Machu Pichu!!
along my Argentinian route. I lost my hair comb (I think in BA) ages ago and as a result have not combed my hair for over 2 weeks. It´s wierd but it really isn´t bothering me.

I did loose 2 things in Tucuman that I really wish I hadn´t but will live without. My Argentinian lonely planet(!!) and my make up bag. I haven´t really been wearing much make up but it is nice to have a bit of mascara every now and then! I guess loosing my lonely planet will just make me ........ I don´t know what. Maybe more organised but I doubt it. Who cares!! It is not like you can really plan where you are going anyway - it just kind of happens to you!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

From the un-combed, un-made up wanderer!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb