new country - new blog - and an explosive bag...


Advertisement
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh the coincidence...
First day I get to my e-mail, and my inbox contains a reminder from travelblog.org. "your account has been innactive for blah blah blah..etc." and so it was my friendly reminder that when its raining on your snowboard trip, you should sit on the internet for an ungodly amount of time and right a bunch of shit. You could say I am here, to entertain those back home, behind a desk, holding a tray, getting drunk due to lack of a better idea...luckily for all involved i'm only gone for three weeks, one of which has already passed me by. So don't worry these updates will be short lived and relatively pain free. I have however..i think figured out the whole picture situation (its easier when your not on a virus infested computer in some hole in the wall in Indonesia).

Let me start by saying that flying out of Calgary after the "Toastmasters" convention was a really shitty idea. You know who attends the Toastmasters Convention; fat angry Americans. And I'm sorry to any fat friends, lazy friends, or American friends....its not you. Its only when you combined the three do I become aggrevated. And now I have the strange hunch that Uncle Bruce is a Toastmaster...oh well....luckily you are missing one..or maybe two of the qualities mentioned above. Have I mentioned you are my second favorite uncle???Now the second pain of my existance during my irritating check in, in Calgary was the part where the guys at the baggage drop seemed to think that my bag contained explosives. There was the initial check, the second check, and finally the complete unpacking of my one and only bag. Security guy that looked like he could have been 12 years old; "What do you do for work Mam?" me; "I construcr explosives.." I say no more....

For anyone who has followed any of the crap I write, you'll know I have been lucky in my airplane seating since last November. No matter the flight I always ended up in a window seat, always snickering as the loser with the middle seat as he or she tossed and turned, and fought for elbow room. Well, I guess I had mine coming...I mean eventually everyone gets the shit end of the stick, and after my mellow flight to Houston, the shit end surfaced. Houston to Buenos Aires took the cake in my book of crappy flights. On one side; a fat old Spanish speaking lady and on the other the "watch out for my hat" guy from Texas. And all cozy in the middle, playing bump elbows with the neighboors, is me. To top it off, my TV played only one of the channels and a message flashing " please see flight attendant for technical support" would flash when i got too fussy with my channels. I should have gotten some sort of compensation, an extra meal, something to make up for only being able to watch the same 3 episodes of "House" for the 10 hours in my middle of the row prison. And as a side note, have you ever noticed how great it feels when you put that seat back? But how suddenly 10 minutes later....it doesn't feel like you put it back at all!

The buys are back from the gym...so to be continued...




Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb