Puking over the Andes


Advertisement
Published: December 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Once again, I got it wrong!
This time I set off with sunstroke left over from the volcano, when I decided not to drink anything as I couldn´t be bothered opening my pack and didn´t want to pee. Well, more fool me.
I managed 2 tiny days not feeling too good, but confident I´d be fine and then on day 3 was back on the ripio gravel heading up and managed the majestic distance of 25 km in 10 hours, interrupted by enforced sleeping by the side of the road and, when actually pushing the bike (cycling by then not an option), puking every 30 yards or so. Joy! After my 40th chunder I thought it was about time to stop and got eaten by mosquitos. So I went back downhill (aaarrgh) a wee bit and put the tent up on the first sloping bit of forest that wasn´t so sloping that I would roll all the way down and slept like a nino.
After that, plain sailing and back into the big country.
Santa turned up in Junin de los Andes in a shabby tunic with a large patch on the back and gave me little wave, but no present, tightwad.
And now I´m in San Martin with my lovely tyres, which came with a sting in their behinds, as Customs made me pay them 50% of their value. Clearly they´re in league with Santa. Well, at least he can afford a new coat now.
Ah gad. It´s just got worse. The internet cafe is playing Chris de Burgh and I was even enjoying it before I realised what it was. There. 3 bad lucks all done now.
On puke 30 I decided maybe it´s time to jump ship to New Zealand, where I can drink tea, read a newspaper, say more than a poquito and enjoy a little country, where men have mullets and the women are strong.
Or follow the example of the mad Dutchman I met yesterday and buy a motorbike for 800 quid and do it that way. He really WAS mad though, so I won´t rush into that one just yet.
I´ll have a little think over the next day or so.
Feliz navidad, by the way.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



30th December 2007

You're still alive!
Hey mighty mark! It's been a while, but I finally got to check out your blog! I'm glad to see you're still alive. Don't give up the bike ride! Very impressive that you're hanging in there. Jamie and I had to hightail it out of Argentina when we ran out of money!! Only got as far as Bariloche. We're back in Canada now... Love your pics of the view from the volcano!
31st March 2008

Hi
Hi Mark, remember us? Well done, come and tell us all about it when you're back in Blightly. looks a fabulous trip, we're jealous!! Hope you're well love Nick and Julie

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb