Random Day


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post



I finally got my ski weekend. Two full days at Cerro Catedral, the largest ski resort in South America. It’s a beautiful mountain with a wide variety of terrain. Of the places I’ve skied, I’d compare it to Telluride in terms of snow texture and size.

I noticed three important differences. The first is with the skis themselves. While they had the newest shapes and designs, they were all that old-skool fiberglass that weights 500 pounds. I learned to ski with that, but haven’t in years (my skis are titanium) and forgot how difficult it is to control myself in powder.

The next is that the slopes aren’t groomed regularly (with the exception of the bunny slopes). The blues all had huge moguls, which actually turned out to be pretty fun.

The third is the “lines” for the chairlifts. It’s really more of a free for all. It’s frowned upon to use poles as actual weapons, but elbows are ok and poles are acceptable for blocking the path of others. At first I had trouble getting to the lifts, but soon my natural pushiness took over and I was not having to wait hardly at all.

The weather yesterday was perfect for skiing too. Sunny all day (the day before I got trapped in a white-out on the way down) and not too cold.

And the other part of the entry (or, entry 2, if you will)...

This morning I had my farewell lunch with my friend Carina. She’s one of my teachers, and we have a lot in common (especially tastes in wine). She’s kind of like a sub- when the regular teachers aren’t available, they call her. I actually like her better than the others because she was the one who really tailored my program to my interests. Anyhow, other than Paola and her family, I will miss Carina a lot when I leave.

On that note, I can’t believe I am leaving Bariloche the day after tomorrow! Three weeks went by really fast. As much as I am eager to return to civilization, I will really miss the people I have met here.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



29th June 2007

Hi Aims, It is 6:30 in the morning--I just woke up to your new blog entries. I loved reading every word. The pictures were fabulous. I got a kick out of the Amy sign. How on earth could you drink six glasses of wine and still be sane?I would have passed out at two! You are becoming quite the maven. We are off to Boston this morning. You will be with us in spirit----We will have a glass of wine with dinner and toast to you!!! xoxox L.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb