Moving On...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Mendoza » Mendoza
June 27th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning I said goodbye to Bariloche. It’s amazing how attached you can get to people in only three weeks. Last night, Paola and Guillermo had a special going away dinner for me. Everybody got dressed up (it was a surprise, and thus I was in my usual jeans and a sweater) and we had the best steak I’ve ever tasted, along with a wine from the Mapuche tribe. Dinners are usually more casual, and do not include alcohol. This was wine that she had been saving for a special occasion. I can’t begin to describe how touching it was. I’m really going to miss them. They have added such an important element to this trip. They really took me in and made me feel like I was part of their family. I felt completely comfortable in their home.

And may I say, wow, was that some wine. Between three of us we finished two bottles. Hey, if you can sustain a drunken- I don’t know the word for it, rant is wrong, soliloquy isn’t it either, but the way I go on with the arms going (you AZ people all know what I mean)- for more than an hour in another language, that’s a good sign, right?

I spent the better part of the day today in the Buenos Aires airport. My flight out of Bariloche was as planned, but my connection was five hours late due to what is not exactly a pilot strike, but is some form of protest by the Austral employees. Some of the passengers, in true Argentine fashion, decided organize a counter protest (against the wait, I guess) and while of course nobody had signs, it was amusing to watch them parade around the terminal chanting and using their carry on luggage as drums.

Anyhow, now I’m in Mendoza, which is in a region called the Cuyo, and is the heart of Argentina’s wine country. As I arrived close to midnight, you will have to wait until tomorrow to learn more. I leave you with some final random photos of Bariloche. Tres semanas abajo mis pies, siempre en mi corazon.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



1st July 2007

Wow....
How do you say pen pal in spanish? I've always thought it would just be really fun to have one, and now that my friend Michelle is moving to Phili I think I might get my wish. I think it would be really cool to have a pen pal friend from another country that writes in a foreign language. Maybe you might find a pen pal over there in your travels? Just a thought You're pictures are just amazing!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb