The Long Awaited Entry about my Host Family


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The L FamilyThe L FamilyThe L Family

L to R (top) Vanina, Micaela, Guillermo (bottom) Gastón, Paola
I just spent a great day skiing, and will go again tomorrow, and such will fill you in on Cerro Catedral at that time.

Anyhow, I’ve gotten lot’s of questions about the people I am staying with.

For the past nearly three weeks, I have been living with the L. family consisting of Guillermo and Paola and their three children: Gastón, 11, Vanina, 9, and Micaela, 7.

I’ve really gotten to enjoy getting to know them, and I will miss them a lot when I leave here. They are very warm, and also very goofy.

Paola is in the neighborhood of a decade my senior, (her actual age is top secret). She’s really mellow with a good sense of humor. Her husband Guillermo is also really cool, and the three of us have had some really interesting conversations about politics and social issues. They are both fairly left leaning, which is pretty cool.

The children are a lot of fun, and very entertaining. Vanina is a diva in training, and almost every evening performs choreographed dances with her sister. Mica follows along, but her talents lie in her humor. She has a very expressive face, and great timing.

And of course, this entry would not be complete without mention of Frau. Frau is a German Shepherd not-quite-puppy. In fact, she celebrated her first birthday during my stay. That being said, she has all the energy (and unfortunately the manners) of a young puppy. She lives outside, and is always by my door when I wake up in the morning, muddy paws and all. The first day I was here I made the mistake of roughhousing with her a bit, and it took a good week and a half before she could see me without automatically assuming it was play time. And did I mention very muddy paws? Anyhow, now she knows she has to sit down if she wants me to pay attention to her. So all is well that ends well.

Wow, it’s a lot harder to describe people than it is to describe places and traditions. I don’t feel like I’m doing them justice. They really have made this experience incredible for me. Anyhow, some of the photos came out blurry (d$%•$%m automatic camera), but enjoy anyways!





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The GirlsThe Girls
The Girls

Mica and Vanina


24th June 2007

Wow!
You are a having a great time and learning Spanish. I know about the 20 degree weather. we had that during the winter. Christina
25th June 2007

hi Amy
What a great looking family. They sound terrific. I even like their dog. I love how you describe your adventures. You paint a great picture. MWAH
29th June 2007

ADORABLE
absolutely adorable family.... i agree, even the dog... how cuuuute! it's so hot here now, i can't believe you're wearing SWEATERS!!

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb