Bariloche


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Great ViewGreat ViewGreat View

Me walking around by the lake.
After Beunos Aires, we headed to Bariloche on a 16 hour night bus. It sounds like hell but it really wasn´t so bad. Well aside from the fact that I was coughing up my lungs for the whole trip which allowed me and those around me less than one hour of sleep. But that is ok becuase there was a guys behind me who was snoring so it wasn´t entirely my fault that no one slept haha. We arrived in Barlioche and it was dumping snow. I mean, there were snow flakes coming down that were the size of quarters. It was so beautiful but I was not expecting it at all. Bariloche is the closest thing to Banff I have ever seen. There are moutains all around, there are ski hills very close, it is the outdoor enthusiasts dream, and it is a complete sinkhole for tourists. On the first day I was there I ventured down the street to the pharmacist and bought cold medicine that at home would have required a perscription and went to bed. I slept all day, went and got a bowl of soup for dinner and then went back to bed. I spent
Canadian Rockies Anyone?Canadian Rockies Anyone?Canadian Rockies Anyone?

If anyone tried to tell me that this doesn´t look like it was taken 45 minutes west of Calgary you are fools.
the entire next day in bed watching movies with Herbie on his ipod. We were both too sick to get out of bed. We were in bed while the rest of the people we were with were out zip lining. Ask me how happy I was? We went and got soup for dinner again and just stayed in bed some more. The next day I was feeling a little bit better but not by much. I managed to haul myself out of bed and went kyaking. it was so much fun. I was coughing the whole time but it was really a great time. And it was beautiful. We went out for dinner that night and then out for drinks. The wine in Argentina is amazing and really cheap so I had some of that. We also went to a microbrewery and tried their sampler of beers. None of them were really that good so I opted for the wine. I headed to bed early that night and woke up feeling much better for it in the morning. Just in time for a quick walk around town and then off to Peurto Varras in a private bus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Super MarketSuper Market
Super Market

Well kind of a super market. This whole supermarket is for chocolate. Yes Debbie, that is right, the whole thing is chocolate!
PreparingPreparing
Preparing

Getting ready to kayak.
Kayaking QueenKayaking Queen
Kayaking Queen

Me paddling my way through the lake. I was lucky to end up in the same boat as our guide so I didn´t have to do a hell of a lot of work.
Chocolate BreakChocolate Break
Chocolate Break

We stopped for hot chocolate and a cake on the beach. Bariloche is famous for it´s chocolate for good reason let me tell you!
Team KayakTeam Kayak
Team Kayak

At the end of the kayaking trip. We were pretty much all pros by this point haha.


25th June 2007

Great Pics
Nice comments and photos! Hope you have a great time here in Argentina! No doubt you are a really Kayaking Queen Greetings!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb