Peurto Varras & Pucon


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Peurto Varras is such a cute little place. Our first night we got in, settled into our hotel (which was by far the nicest hotel I will stay in down here. The beds were like clouds) and then went for dinner. Dinner was fairly pricey but I guess that is what is to be expected when you are in Chile. Dinner was really nice. I had a steak and just to give everyone who travels to Chile fair warning: when you order medium rare, you will get your steak blue! Herbie and I left dinner early and went back to the hotel. I was in a grumpy mood because I was a little grouped out but all was well after a sleep in the dream bed. In the morning we headed out to go horse back riding. It was so beautiful. We rode through the hills and the views were so great. Having worked at a riding stable I can say with confidence that safety is far from the top of the priority list for the trail guides. Our guide gave people who had never been on a horse before the option of JUMPING A LOG! What are you doing? Needless to say everyone made it back ok despite Greg being on a total runaway horse at one point, Luara being run into a tree or 2 and me being nearly thrown off (don´t worry I saved it). When we were jumping the log my horse spooked and I went ass over tea kettle and caught myself with my face about an inch above the mud. I had a couple bruises but all in all it was a good save. All that was lost was a lip gloss and let´s be honest, I have plenty of those to spare. We got back to the hotel and a bunch of the group went on a tour of the surrounding area but I stayed back and had some down time. We went for dinner that night and I had an amazing chicken stew. It was a little odd though. It was a whole breast of chicken in broth with a whole boiled potatoe. I opted for the stew over the "hot dog especial" which was a sausage, white bun, and mayonese. How special!We left early in the morning and went to Pucon which was one of my favorite places we have been so far. We checked into Hostel Willy adn instantly fell in love with the place. We had a huge fire place in the main area of the hostel which I spent much of my time in front of. We had access to the kitchen in the hostel which was really nice. Most of the group opted to cook the first night there but Herbie and I couldn´t be asked so we went for dinner. We had the most amazing burger in south america. I had no choice to eat it with a knife and fork though because it was so big. We went back to Willy and hung out in the main room. The second day there I was tired so I hung out aroudn town and read my book in front of the fireplace. It was snowing a lot ahe rest of the group went rafting so it was a nice quiet day. The next day Herbie and I got up early and headed out to the national park and went hiking. A bunch of the trails were closed because of snow but it was amazing. I think it was a major highlite for me on the trip. We went on a couple of the trails that were recomended not to be trekked but they looked too cool so we tredged on. We went to Mamma´s and Tappa´s that night for dinner which was good but very cold as the place didn´t have any heating! We had an early night becuase the following day was going to be a big one! We woke up early and Peter picked us up. We travelled out to the local airport and I went skydiving! It was amazing. The views were incredible and the rush was indescribable. I would love to do it again but I think my bank account would rather I didn´t haha. A couple of us went for dinner with Peter (the tandum skydiving instructor) and then we got on a night bus and headed our of Pucon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ride´m CowgirlRide´m Cowgirl
Ride´m Cowgirl

Me and my horse Serius (or something to that effect).
Perfect ReflectionPerfect Reflection
Perfect Reflection

This is the lake at the bottom of the mountain hat we hiked in the national park.
Dynamic DuoDynamic Duo
Dynamic Duo

Me and Herbie in front of the first waterfall we found.


3rd July 2007

Re: what a vacation
Hey there girl, What a fabulous vacation. You hid your dare devil self well at work. It sounds like you having an amazing time. The picutres are awesome. With each picture I see a different you.
5th July 2007

You're pretty much my hero
8th July 2007

Re: Jumping out of a plane
Oh my gosh Alicia...I cannot believe you went skydiving!! Sounds like you are having an amazing experience. We all miss you tons!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb