Beunos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Group Photo at Boca GameGroup Photo at Boca GameGroup Photo at Boca Game

We are on the top tier of the most gigantic soccer stadium.
What a city...! We had such a great time in Beunos Aires. I became very aware of the fact that I didn´t take the right kind of clothing for our trip. It is really cold down here. It is winter and I was under the impression that it would still be somewhat moderate temperatures but NOPE. It is snowing in some places and cold so I went on a crazy shopping spree to replace some of my warm weather clothes. So on the first day I went for a walk around the shopping area with our new guide. She was trying to show me where the GREAT shopping was but we ended up walking in cricles and getting lost for a few hours. It was really cool because we were walking around one of the nicer neighbourhoods of the city and it had loads of gardens in it. We stopped and got a drink and chatted and then headed back to the hotel. That night we went out for dinner and then out to a irish pub that reminded me of dixon´s. There were tonnes of tourists there and it was really fun. Amy and I decided that we were
Boca FieldBoca FieldBoca Field

Our view of the field. It was pretty foggy but it was still awesome.
hungry when we got home at 5am and so we headed down the street to find a "Super Pancho", otherwise known as a hot dog. We found a place and it was open and there was a huge table of locals there that we sat with and hung out with for a few hours. We didn´t end up eating the panchos because they were absolutely rotten tasting but we headed home at about 7am. We all woke up feeling a little under the weather. I did a little more shopping and just wondering around the city. That night we went to the Boca Juniors Semi Final football game. It was awesome. I have never seen anything so crazy in my life. We were in a concrete stadium and until this game, I was under the impression that concrete wasn´t supposed to bend but it was sure swaying that night. There were flares going off in the stands and everyone was throwing these big reciept rolls of paper. We went out to the bar beside our hotel and had a drink and then went to bed. We went to the gingantic cemetary the next day and saw Evita´s tomb. The cemetary
Paper ThrowingPaper ThrowingPaper Throwing

The paper roll throwing and the flares in the stands. It was awesome.
was like none that I have seen before. There were a bunch of cripts that were filled with coffins and urns and stuff. There was one that the coffin inside was open and Laura and I actually saw bones. It was really creepy. Some of them were so well tended to and others were so run down and so unkept. I think the creepiest part about it was that there were hundreds of stray cats that live in the cemetary and we all know how awesome I think cats are. That night we went to a Tango lesson and then to a show. We had dinner and unlimited wine which I could not complain about. We went out after that and got really drunk. We were almost the only people in the pub but it was still very fun. We had to say goodbye to some of the people from our group which was sad but we picked up a couple new ones. They will be leaving us in Santiago though. So needless to say, I left Beunos Aires broke and tired and a little overpacked.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

After the GameAfter the Game
After the Game

Me hanging out after the game with my Boca scarf on my neck.
CemetaryCemetary
Cemetary

I love that this tomb has a skull and cross bones on top of it. Maybe it´s a pirate inside.
EvitaEvita
Evita

This is the actual tomb of Evita. I don´t know that they actually call them tombs or not but I do.
They are BIGThey are BIG
They are BIG

Just to give you an idea of how big the tombs are, here is Laura standing besides them.
CemetaryCemetary
Cemetary

The most confusing and large cemetary I have ever been in.
Tango ShowTango Show
Tango Show

We were front row centre for the tango show. The best part was the food and the unlimited wine.
Tango SkillsTango Skills
Tango Skills

Amy and showing off our tango skills on the corner outside of our hotel.
Me and My GuidesMe and My Guides
Me and My Guides

This is Christina (blonde) the old guide, and Megan (brunette) the new guide and me in the middle.


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb