Found!


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning I noticed a similarity between Buenos Aires and my trip to Prague last year. It seems every radio station I’ve heard here plays almost exclusively American hits from the 80’s. Not that I’m complaining- I’ll be the first to admit that about half my ipod could be described the same way. It’s just unexpected. In Prague, I had related it to the fact that this was what was Western when communism fell. And that they had just never bothered to update their concepts. But Buenos Aires is a thriving, modern city with their own cultural base. Now granted I have not brought my own radio- I am basing this on what is playing in taxis and in the shops and cafes I have gone into. I will have to experiment with a radio later.

So let’s review Amy’s first impressions of Buenos Aires, or to be more specific, La Recoleta: Unique businesses, fairly clean streets, 80’s music everywhere, a bookstore on every block, and an over-abundance of attractive men.

Could I have been a porteño in a past life?

note added later that evening: One more piece of evidence supporting this claim: When I arrived at my host family´s house for dinner, the mother told me upfront that some of her recipes were a bit different because her children don´t eat peppers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb