Less Tourists


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro » El Bolsón
February 7th 2007
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have reached my next destination of El Bolson (between Bariloche and Esquel). The bus ride from Bariloche to here was amazing. The mountains grew closer and closer. One covered in snow, some rocky and jagged, other were almost hills of trees and grass. The valleys between the road and mountains were rios or river with bedrock. Very beautiful. The trees resembled pines and furs. The soil was dry, rocky and dusty, but covered with shrubs, trees and other greenery.

We passed small shanty towns on the way. Kids running in these dusty streets. Plywood houses about the size of a San Francisco apartment. It was a different side of this area. One I had not seen. I noted a guy on houseback waving to a man tending to his garden. Simple and good people.

The bus drops me off in this dusty town, which is very small but has amazing views of the Andes. I mean this town is at the bottom is some incredible peaks, and its just what I wanted. Away from Bariloche, a good town, but very touristic. Today I walked along the river next to El Bolson (6 blocks away). Rounded, River rock bed surrounds me, on top of the he banks are shanty towns, I am the only gringo around but I press on because I these people make me feel comfortable, it is similar to Bryson City in North Carolina. They are mountain folk. I see children fishing not with poles, but line attached to a tin can, which they wrap the string around. This is a different place.

I am staying in a hotel ($20 US), I justified after camping for two days. The costs offset each other. Tonight I plan to eat the local specialty of rainbow trout and sample some local brews. This area is known for producing the most hops of any other in Argentina.

Tommorrow, a mountain bike and see where it takes me.

I leave here Friday for Esquel. Esquel is the closest spot to National Park Los Alerces, which is supposed to be "muy bueno".

Hope all is well with you guys. Take care. Send me an email if you get a chance. Internet is harder to come by the further south that I move.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0942s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb