Exploring El Bolson


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro » El Bolsón
February 9th 2007
Published: February 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is Friday, February 9th in El Bolson around 1pm. My bus departs for Esquel at 3pm.

Yesterday, I slept in, grabbed a mountain bike rental and started up toward "Cabeza del Indio" a rock face cut into the side of the mountain. On the way up this 4km ride (all uphill), apparently the 6km was easier, were incredible views of the Rio Azul (Blue River), Cerro San Francisco, Cerro Alicia, more mountain peaks than I feel like naming. Awesome spot. Cabeza del Indio was cool. I stood on top of the rock above the face and took loads of pictures.

Next, I grabbed my mountain bike toward the waterfalls which was another 2 or 3kms away. The name of the waterfall is Cascada Escondida. On the way, to the falls I ran into a flock of sheep. A German kid on a bike that was travelling as well, came up behind me and we ended up talking and walking the falls together, than riding back to El Bolson on the highway. The falls were pretty but small and not overly impressive. The ride on Route 40 was great, as buses and semis crusied past me on this rental bike.

I dropped off my bike then headed to the local market which was loaded with arts, crafts, clothings, brackets, wood carvings, etc...In the market, I ran into a friend from the Mendoza Hostel (the Italian Damiano) and his English friend. We hung out the rest of the day, wandered El Bolson, drank mate......

Next update in Esquel...photos on the way as well

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb