4 Airports, 3 Flights, 2 buses and 1 tired traveler


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
March 1st 2015
Published: March 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 9 & 10 28th Feb/1stMarch 2015 Buenos Aires

So after four airports (Newark, Toronto, Chile and Argentina) 3 flights, 2 buses and what’s felt like an eternity,although I only left Newark at 9pm Saturday and was at my hostel here in Argentina before 5pm Sunday, so it wasn't really as long as I thought. I arrived in Buenos Aires. It’s very warm and humid, which is a nice change from the snow and ice I left behind me in New York. I met some friendly people on each flight and the time passed quick enough, although I am looking forward to sleeping in a bed tonight and not an aeroplane. Here is a brief summary of my day so far,

After the misdirection going to the first airport, in Toronto only having 20 minutes to get to my gate, and there was nobody at the check-ins desk so by the time they found a check in agent, we (there was 6 of us) were told we had missed the flight. Then my boarding pass was rechecked and because I had an assigned seat (as I had booked a New York to Buenos Aires flight so I had checked in the whole way in New York) I was told to run, run as fast as I could to the gate otherwise my seat would be given to the people wanting, so I got on a flight then we stopped in Chile where there was total chaos again trying to find the next gate, at this stage there was about 60 people all running in the same direction, going through security again, (this time I wasn't stopped) and running to the gate where there must have been already 150+people waiting. All of us on my flight didn't have a boarding card for this part of the flight so we hoped the one from Toronto would cover it, it did. So we re-boarded the same aircraft, took off and finally landed in Buenos Aires.



On the first bus from the airport to the hostel, at a set of traffic lights, I saw this teenager juggling tennis balls for tips at the red lights, which would have really been impressive if he didn't drop them as often as he did. I am staying in America del Sur Hostel, its seems to be well run and there is a great atmosphere, even though I am currently not down hanging out in the common area, my room is nice, there are 4 beds (2 bunks, I got a bottom bunk again 😊 and a locker/cupboard to keep my belongings that I can actually lock!) I also have an en suite shower room, and a separate toilet in my room. Tonight I am sharing with 3 fella's, one is from England, another is Swiss and the third is asleep!

Well I'm sure tomorrow will be full of adventure, so I shall leave this update here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb