More BA...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 17th 2011
Published: February 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So where were we......

After my last email we went to the famous Recoleta cemetry right accross from where we are staying. It only took us three days but its always the way isn´t it? Definitely different to our cemetries at home. EEEeeeekkkk! You can actually see the coffins inside the big stone coffin houses, with white cloths and vases and crosses and other religous things. It´s most famous for being where Eva Peron is buried so we went for a squiz at her grave which was just like all of the rest of them really, but with more flowers. I think I might read her autobiography when I finish my current book, sounds like an amazing story!

Then last night we hit uptown for a real proper Tango show. It was called Sabor a Tango 😊 It was amazing! It was in an old, very dramatic, red curtained theatre building, the men open the doors for you, you walk in and get a photo with the dancers. We sat down for our three course dinner before the show which of course was beef, I have been eating soooo much beef in Buenos Aires but apparently it´s what you do here. And finally I have tried Dulce le leche, after all these years of saying ´I really don´t think itś something I would like´ but... of course... YUM! It´s like a thick milky caramel sauce and it´s delicious, the girl was trying to get us to buy a 500g tub but for safety reasons, of not being able to fit into our pants in a weeks time, we had to say no!

The dancers were so glamorous, doing about a billion sparkly costume changes throughout the show. The tango is so so so sexy! The women were all so beautiful and the men all very charming. It was apparently a very traditional Tango show. Playing the story of the hooker stealing the rich man off his wife kinda thing. It was fun! There was a band with grand piano, double base, accordian and a couple of violins and they played behind the dancers on the stage. There was also some traditional northern argentinian music, not sure what they are called but kind of like all wind instruments and a really tiny guitar (Im hopeless I know). Then there was some Flamenco type dancing and drumming with guys playing music with these little wooden balls on ropes being twirled around at 100 miles an hour making beats with the floor and a drum. The show finished with Evita performing Don´t cry for me Argentina which was lovely particularly as we had been to the cemetry earlier in the day, it made me feel very warm and gooey inside.

Today has been wonderful! We checked out of beautiful Recoleta and are now in our hostel in the city, but we have a private room which is awesome....and it has a bathroom! The hostel vibe is certainly much cooler though! We checked in our luggage and headed to San Telmo where we sat in a square and had lunch while watching a local Tango dance. It was good but not comparable to Sabor a Tango. The chicken sandwich was AWFUL and I didn´t eat it in fear of food poisoning! San Telmo is the antique shopping district of BA and also had a few great vintage clothing type shops which I can see Chris and Shell spending hours and hours searching through! All of the cool hats and glasses and sexy old school clothes! You guys would love it!

Then we were contemplating but ended up finally getting PUBLIC TRANSPORT, yes we took a bus, to La Boca. I think this would have to be my favourite place in BA so far. I overheard an American tour guide comparing it to The Bronx in New York but the it certainly wasn´t ghetto to me! The story goes that the people of the neighbourhood built all of the buildings from scraps of corregated iron sheets which they painted with the brightest colours imaginable. Apparently the paint was used from when they built the railway but I don´t know about that, I´ve never seen a primary coloured railway in my life. It had markets all around the main block with loads of local artists work, mainly paintings of the buildings and tango dancers - you would love it Mumsy. The cafes all had live music and dancing going on out the front. It was such a wonderful cultural thing to see.

After La Boca we went to meet up with James for a last night drink in BA together. We went back to Recoleta for ´Happy hour´ at a lovely little candle lit bar called Portezuelo. I had 2 margaritas as it was 2 for one and they were HUGE! The best thing was you can have your first one and then when you finish they make the second fresh for you - a bit of a luxury compared to 2 for 1 cocktails at Coletos eh! It was fun to sit up at the bar all night, by the candlelight, drinking cocktails and having a laugh. And I can honestly say it actually took me almost all night to get through the cocktails they were so big, and most of you know what I´m like on the Margaritas - so I´m glad I stopped at 2!







Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Tango la Sabour - dinner timeTango la Sabour - dinner time
Tango la Sabour - dinner time

Not more beef...................


19th February 2011

Hola from Mum, Dad & the Henrys
We are all pea-green and I am working on Dad to go to South America:-) Not holding the breath though! Nicole's mum was really nice and we had a lovely chat. Keep the info rolling - lovin it! And You
19th February 2011

I knew I should have gone with you. Miss you sooooo much Narelle xxxx

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb