Diary of a Sick Bastard


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Misiones » Puerto Iguazú
April 28th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Missed Photo Opportunity #5Missed Photo Opportunity #5Missed Photo Opportunity #5

It is a little known fact that when I get a fever, I become a giant ogre twice the size of Eden and can barely fit on a double bed.
The following are excerpts from my journal over the last four days or so:

24 April - Monday
11am.
Our passports were not exit-stamped upon leaving Brasil. This is a formality that is apparently often skipped, but another English-speaking tourist on the bus last night told us we'll probably run into problems trying to get back into Brasil later without the exit stamp. So we went back to the border this morning to take care of it. Not a problem, despite a wasted morning. But it's okay! We're both healthy and should have no problem making up for lost time at the Falls.
5pm. The falls were beautiful. As Eleanor Roosevelt once said, "Poor Niagara." I don't think I drank enough water. Not feeling so good.
8pm. My body aches in ways I've never felt before. I should be okay by morning, when we'll leave for San Ignacio.

25 April - Tuesday
2am.
I woke up feeling sweaty and miserable. Turns out Eden had closed the window during the night. I was standing by the open door when she woke up and asked me what I was doing. I told her it was incredibly hot in the room, to which she replied: "Actually, it's not." So we went to the hospital where my fever was confirmed, and the doctor prescribed some aspirin. Unfortunately, no pharmacies are open at 2am. The doctor charged us 20 pesos, which is about six US dollars.
9am. Did not sleep well at all. Completely dehydrated. Headache, dizziness, back pain, leg pain, foot pain, eye pain. This freaks Eden out.
4pm. We return to the hospital for urine and blood tests. I almost pass out, twice. Tests conclude I have a minor kidney infection, for which I am prescribed penicillin. Then some dude stuck a needle in my butt, which alleviated most of my body pain by sending it screeching to my ass. After purchasing the penicillin, today's medical ordeal cost us 63 pesos, or 21 US dollars.
7pm. Feeling slightly better. Hopefully we go to San Ignacio tomorrow.

26 April - Wednesday
9am.
Woke up several times during the night in pools of my own sweat, which Eden claims is a good thing. All it means to me is more laundry to be done.
11am. We're not going to San Ignacio today.
3pm. My body still hurts most of the time, but substantially less so than it did yesterday. Finally mustered enough energy to check some e-mail, to discover our friends the German med students were staying right across the street from us the day I got sick. They're gone now.
8pm. My throat hurts a little. But we found a restaurant that serves soup, so hopefully we can leave this town tomorrow.

27 April - Thursday
9am.
Awoke on numerous occasions throughout the night to pee and drink more water. Didn't sleep so well.
11am. Hostel gave us clean sheets today. Huzzah! Now the bed will not smell like moldy perspiration.
2pm. My legs hurt, but only when I use them. My stomach feels like it might finally be able to handle solid food.
9pm. Ordered a burger at a local restaurant. I quote Futurama: "That's the saltiest thing I've ever eaten, and I once ate a bowl of salt." Naturally, my stomach didn't agree with it, and now I feel worse. I'm not holding out much hope for San Ignacio tomorrow.

28 April - Friday
9am.
We're leaving for San Ignacio today.

Here's hoping the decrepit ruins and the houses of suicidal poets in San Ignacio don't make me as sick as the majestic natural wonders of Puerto Iguazu did!

Advertisement



8th May 2006

Glad you're feeling better
Glad you're feeling better - I'm sure learning about suicidal poets will cheer you up!
9th May 2006

poor hombre..
well, at least from your drawing, you've still got a sense of humor and a nurse that wears stockings. that's cool. come on san ignacio!
9th May 2006

a trip to remember
You'v been so healthy your whole life, this trip has been an experience in more than one way!! I hope all goes well now. I've now read up on Portuguese, which Brazilians all understand. The Portuguese in Brazil vs Portugal is like English in US vs English in the UK. Very interesting. I hope this message gets to you, I'm not a member like they ask for.
15th May 2006

In the bathroom...
...in the midst of all the crime and poverty you've been describing, are you telling me you have a b'day?

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0964s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb