IGUAZU!


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, what started as a night in a stinking hot, mosquito ridden room full of drunken guys returning at all hours and sleeping through their alarm for a good half hour, and after being deserted by my new German girlfriend at the bar last night who went home with an Israeli guy.... my stay in Iguazu has been nothing less than GORGEOUS!!!!

Friday, I decided to see the Brazilian side, which only takes around 2 hrs for the circuit, as I had to wait the whole morning to get my visa to travel tomorrow to Brazil. Gorgeous!!! A beautiful, exquisite vista of the whole falls PLUS, I went to see the Bird Park on the recommendation of the people I had met on the bus. It was beautifully done, with the opportunity to walk through caged in areas and see and touch close up toucans (I love these birds, they're so gorgeous!!), have blue and multicoloured HUGE parrots eat your watch, see anacondas, boa constrictors, tarantulas, and even humming birds!!! What gorgeous wildlife!

I then relented and went for another 'tenedor libre' (all you can eat BBQ) with the Argentinian girl and Spanish guy I had met (musician and drama teacher - delightful!), complete with sangria to wash it down. Then they invited me to swim in the pool at their hotel... what a magnificent day!

I got back to a youth hostel with no water... at least the dorm had changed to girls, so I had a good night's sleep!! This morning I got in just before the queue at the showers b4 the water cut out again!

And then it was to the Argentinian side of the falls... No less magnificent! A 2 hr lower circuit, 1 hr upper circuit, boat ride to the island with an hour walk there too (including a brief dip in the water), and a train ride to the churning and spectacular 'devil's throat' (garguanta del diable) later, and I walked the less touristy Macuco path another 6km round trip to a lovely waterfall complete with swimming hole to bathe my tired limbs! The nature and wildlife was abundant, and walking trails superbly done to make the most of the gorgeous environment in the most peaceful way. I saw lizards, butterflies, birds, and even a flock of toucans!!!! Wow!

Just chilled over a beer with a guy I met at Macuco from Adelaide who is camping an hiking his way around Latin America, and am now at an internet cafe (gave up on the hostel computer) - it's so nice to have a fast connection again!

Last night at the hostel before heading to Brazil... stay posted!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.6kb