Posadas and Paraguay


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Posadas
February 3rd 2006
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, sitting here in a very slow connection at Iguazu Hostel, waiting for my Brazilian Visa to be processed before going to visit the falls.

Martin and I arrived safely in Posadas to a lovely appartment overlooking the Parana River and Paraguay (his friend, the owner was on holidays). First day we caught a bus north to the Jesuit Ruins of San Ignacio Mini - through this region of Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay, there are some 30 such ruins from 18th Century when the Jesuits had formed religious communities with the local Guarani. Later, the Spanish Monarchy were afraid these towns were becoming too independent, and most were destroyed...

The second day we crossed to Paraguay where Martin bought lots of cheap goods and I went to see the Jesuit ruins at Trinidad, despite Martin warning me that this was dangerous and that yes, many tourists went, but not single females. Lo and behold I met another - single female, US Jenny! It turned out to be a lovely journey, although you really do remark the poverty compared with the Argentinian side. Also, I didn't check out re. visas, and almost didn't get across the border!! They told me I had to return to the consulate to get a Visa, but finally, after making me wait around 20 mins, they accepted the 80 pesos - all I had on me - rather than the normal $45 (about $20 cheaper!!) and let me go accross for the day! Jenny, who had come by bus and not had her passport stamped, was told she had to return to where she'd entered the country, but finally got away with just paying the $50 fine!! Crazy.

So Martin and I had a lovely evening by the Costanera overlooking the river, drinking mate, seeing the Train museum on a boat (which was used to transport trains across the river when there was no bridge)..

Yesterday we parted ways and I came the 5hr bus ride to Iguazu...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb