Trip once again cancelled


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba
February 7th 2006
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well It is thursday, I went on friday evening to teach Priscila how to Make capinias. It was funny however I did get the thumbs up from the brrazilians that I did in fact make them correctly. There was a German girl at the house trying to tell me, I was wrong however, in reality, it is only the brazilians who can correctly judge these thngs since it is their national drink. I only made one since the correct limes needed are difficult to find here. Sort of a side track but, the fruit here is wonderful it is all in season. It is like cheating for me. Because I never eat this things in the winter because they are not ripe. But now, here the peaches pears, and limons are perfect. I have taken to having fresh fruit for breakfast. So back to the evening...

After we made the capinias we headed to a bar that served pizza. The place was owned by brazilains it seem like a good place to show the brazilians off to thier home. It was a nice place and I enjoyed talking to other students since I really have not socialize much with them and I have been focused on the people at my house. And there seems like a lot to do.

I have come to understand that the school is really screwed up. There were several people there that were in a volunteer porgrams connected with the school it is has been a real mess for them. One brazilain has been spending two months here with nothing to do. He said he goes to the gym daily reads and walks around but there is no work, and the work that was offered was two hours away. Sort of like charlene´s situation. Peter the German guy showed up, he is also volunterring but he has internet skills so the school itself is using his tallents for a website or something. He said the school is pretty messed up as well. Seems he spends most of his time working when others in the office are doing little. I pointed out to him his problem is his german work ethic and he is trying to translate that to Argentina. In the latin work is Menaña. He´ll learn. I also spent some time talking with my teacher and some other people I was having a good time. It was very sad to say goodbye to prisilla. She was in tears and it was very sad. I left around one, because I wanted to go to the country in the morning.

Turns out I did not learn from the lesson I was givng Peter. The trip was once agin cancelled because When I woke up there was thunder and lightning. I made it to the school at 8:30 only to find out I was the only person who they could not reach. It was cancelled. Because of the rain. Perhaps Menaña, ( in really meaning tomorrow) in the future sometime.

So it was another weekend in Codoba. A plan B of sorts.
So I went back to sleep and the day improved and was hot. We actually could have gone riding but one never knows and in turth I am not all of fond of horses they spook with bees, can you imagine what they may do with thunder and lightening. I once agian walked around town read a bit and studied a bit.

At night Beba was free so I took her out to a parillirra. But first she took me out ot a movie we saw [Memiors of a Guisha[. She read it I got to see it without reading. Interesting to see how somethings translated. Because I Did like reading some of it because after all I am here to learn spanish. Later that evening we went to a place near to our apartment for dinner. The food was great, the wine was also. We talked as best we could in my limited vocabulary. Sort of like taking a five year old out to dinner for her I imagine. Ok maybe it was not that bad. Returned to the house at about 1:00.

I slept late and when I got up it was the weekly lunch event Teto came over and so did a bunch of relatives and friends. It was a lunch party. The food was good it seems to be Teto weekly job and I again tryied to speak in my caveman words. Later that evening, I went out to the artizania market. I brought some nice earrings that did not cost that much however I will need to modify them or they will be lost really soon. That night I made some arrangements to head out to la Cambre on wednesday. When I returned there sort of was a friend- family emergency that night strange story. However, they are not details for a website. At any rate. it is strange to be sitting at a dinner table and hearing someone talk on the phone and every one at the table reacts with shock!!!!! and you have no damm clue what is going on. or what is being said. They did however explain it to me when they saw my stummed look of stupidy. However. it was a serious situation, and it was time they needed to be alone so I went to bed early.

This week I have been really frustrated with classes. I spent money for private lessons only to find out through talking to another American on the street, that there were other schools that offered private lessons at a quarter of the cost. I paid $40.00 for two hours and this other school has them for $12:00 so I may go there. I also discussed the issues I was having with the school and next weeks. I will have classes with only one other student and I think I will also take the private lessons as well in the morning two days per week for two hours each day. My conversation has not improved and that is what I want to focus on. Seems the school thinks I should be the next great novelist and we write alot and learn grammer rules to which there is no end too in spanish. I explained that my spelling is bad in english I don{t see it improving in spanish so we will see how it goes.

Yesterday I went out to La Cambre to look at houses. Beba set me up with a relative. The agent was a young very good looking argentine. I went around with him and Lorenzo. We took the bus from here. We took a big bus it seems to stop every five minutes so it took three hours to get there. The town was beautiful. The houses were as well. There are a deal however, the taste is different then Amercian taste. But there are things you could do with the houses. I may continue to look. The place was so pretty, it was sort of an artist town. There were some engish folks who settled there. We will see. We rode home one a little bus it did not make as many stops. Got home around 11:00 and then I got to do my home work. it was a late night.

WEll the weekend is going to shape up. we will see what happens. All the best for those in portland hope you are enjoying the sunshine I sent to you. Till next time Rebecca

Advertisement



10th February 2006

one successful photo
It looks like you did put one photo on your blog! Thanks for the sunshine. Laurey

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb