Hockey players and Hunters


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Córdoba
January 18th 2006
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I have finally arrived in Argentina for classes. However my luggage did not. At some point you have to leave the ariport and hope it all works out ok and After 24 hours of travel and minual sleep, you just do what you can. The plane here to Cordoba was a strange mix of people. The flight into Cordoba had a Women´s Field hockey team from Austrailia. They told me that they were there for a world competion. The Argentine team is some of the best in the world and they are having big international competion the next two weeekends. I may go to check out one of the games, either this weekend or the next. They told me that women from all over the world are coming to Cordoba to compete. I used to play in high school and it was one of few things. I liked to play. The other group on the plane were Canadian hunters, and when we waiting for the luggage it was obvious that they came supplied with an arsenal of guns. Argentina seems to have a problem with Doves. So they they make use of it and have created hunting trips for people from the North. After listening to these guy´s which there was about twenty of them I think the problem should gone by the time they leave the country. I was the only other gringo of sorts on the plane. Here to hopefully, learn spansih better. We´ll see.

When I arrived I was greeted by a friend of Beba´s. He was all of twenty and a really nice guy. He told me that he know all about me because he had read my emails to Beba, turns out her english is getting better because he has been writting the email´s for her. Which was interesting he really had a good laugh when I wrote about how her english had improved. We ate some lunch, and Beba arrived, we talked abit. Then I headed down to the school to take a placement test. I am somewhere near the bottom, but considering that this time the majority of the students are from Brazil, I am not surprized, the languages are simular. I will be meeting more of the students today. I have class at 2 till 6 every week day. They invited me to a party that night but I was so tired I passed on the invite, and Turns out there was a party at Beba´s house to celebrate her birthday and my arrival.

At the school I was susprizing but one of the teachers remembered me from my past trip here about two years ago. She told me that most of the teachers left the school. My old teacher is now a lawyer full time, and does not teach at all. There has been a few changes but in general they look like improvements.

I went home to Beba´s house and opted to sleep for awhile. I got up and we celebrated with champaigne and homemade empenas for dinner. Beba´s family and friends arrived and they sat around and talked and laughted alot. I could only understand small bits of the conversation. Fernando, the guy who met me at the door and I talked a little in spanlish. (A mix of the two Languages.) I am really hoping to see improvement. I went to sleep at midnight.

It is good to get out of the rain of Portland. Here it is perfect. Sorry guys. It is true. The sun is out and the temperature is about 75 F. Got up this morning and had a nice coffee and a little toast the standard issue breafast here with duche con leche ( sg wg) a very sweet caramel you put on the toast. Too sweet for me. I then tried to deal with the lugguage thing and went down to the LAN chile Office. Not so hopeful. Why they can´t call the airport from thier office I´ll never understand, But I am sure it will work out. I will see what the School can do for me. Beba´s niece works at a hotel and she is going to see what she can do as well. Now I wonder if only half the things will arrive.

I then went for a coffee ordered a capchino, but instead got some layered drink, looked like a desert, but the last layer was some sort of Liquior not what I was exspecting a little too early in the morning for that. Pretty drink though and it only cost $1.10.

Well I am off for today´s adventure basically my first day of class. I think I am more awake then yesterday. I did not drink the last layer of the drink, so I stay focused on the school.

Till next time, Love Rebecca

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb