Last full day in BA


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
January 8th 2017
Published: January 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

7/1/2017
Today was our last full day in Buenos Aires (Saturday). We were told by the hostel that's there were lots of markets on. Scarlet, Erin, Jordan and I decided to go to the ones in the Recoleta district was had not been there yet. In the morning me and Erin decided to book ourselves in for the Tango show in the evening as it was the only opportunity I had to see it before I left! Jordan also booked on to see it as well.
We walked to Recoleta anjd it was a really nice district with lots of cafes and greenery. The markets were cool but I could only really window shop as I can't fit anything in my bag! We stopped for ice cream at Freddos as it's apparently famous for it. I got a brownie sundae and it definitely lived up to the hype! It was a very hot and muggy day so walking around became very tiring and sweaty. We went to the famous cemetery which loads of rich and famous people were buried at. Each coffin site had completely different architecture to the other and it was very interesting to walk around there.
We decided we were knackered due to the heat so headed back to the hostel. Scarlet, Jordan and I decided we were going to have grapes, wine, cheese, bread and salami for dinner. We got that from the market and headed up to the rooftop to meet Felix, Matt, Talia and Ellie. Due to the weather we all wanted to have a nice cold beer. But for some reason the hostel didn't allow them on the rooftop. Talia and I went to the supermarket with my rucksack and managed to sneak some in. We all chilled up there for a few hours with some tunes and it was nice. However, I decided that my monzo card had been used for fraud! So I was a bit panicked having to sort that out but they reimbursed me straight away. It was just annoying cos now I was one card down!
I showered and me and Erin headed to the Tango. We couldn't find Jordan as we assumed he had made his own way there but turned out he was looking for us. The tango was so amazing! The dancing was very skilled and enjoyable to watch. As we had a bottle of wine during dinner and a few drinks before I felt quite drunk by the end! When we tried to go back to hostel we walked outside and there was a massive storm! First time we had seen rain in Argentina and it was very heavy. We got an uber and went up to the guys room where the others had been drinking. We got some drinks downstairs in the hostel as they had the party on and it was ladies night so meant happy hour for us! The drinks were unbelievably strong and also Felix gave me some more coke. I knew this was a bad idea but as it was the last night thought why not!
We decided to try and go to speakeasy bar in Palmero called Franks. Once we got there they immediately turned us away due to some wearing shorts and flip flops. We headed to the plaza for some drinks. We were with some guy called Matt from England who started being really creepy but Felix saved me. We had a few drinks there and headed back at about 5am. For some reason we decided to do a line of coke when we got in which was a bad idea as I knew I had to be up to check out in the morning. I was in bed by 6am and it was an enjoyable last night!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb