Carnaval


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
February 24th 2006
Published: February 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Every day has been an adventure here in Argentina. At the moment I am watching what I think is the final day of carnaval unfold on the Brazilian channel here in Buenos Aires. The costumes are colorful and huge. Jeez, it mus be so heavy to dance in these things. A lot of the parade I have seen is very influenced by the African heritage of Brazil. There is a lot of yellow (the color of one of the main orishas, or gods. A lot of cowry shells and groups on floats behind chains and being whipped.) I wish in America we could be open about our sad history.

Tonight Mom and I went to have diner and see a tengo show. For the most part the show was cheezey. Think Andean flutes playing Simon and Garfunkle covers as well as the intro to the show Rawhide.

Today was stressful for me. I needed to get a cellphone and no one there spoke English, only Castellano, as they call it here. The next half hour consisted of me being beet red and repeating "no entiendo". The man, Sandro, was nice and in the end I walked out feeling about 2 inches tall from embarresment and exhaustion, altough I was proud I had compleated that task on my own.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb