long week


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
August 14th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

what a week, phew.

to start, i'm officially a resident of argentina yayyuhh. tomorrow i get my visa at 7:45 am noooo. i took a lot of classes this week and wasn't really thrilled with any of them. for starters, the prof never showed to the international security class, plus it meets on mondays so I don't think I want to take it. UBA is just too bootleg - graffiti all over the classrooms, people coming in interrupting class to pass out political flyers and booklets, the acoustics in the room are awful, it smells like spray paint and chalk, etc. etc. The one class, pensamiento politico argentino, seems pretty legit taught by these 7 men who are totally from partido radical haha and who chain smoke during class...we read facundo and martin fierro, and eva peron so how bad could it be...it meets from 9-11 pm but es la vida. I guess I'm going to take one class at USAL, just so I can have something easier to fall back on, but I don't know which one yet. I'm taking opera and el teatro colon with mario and marcelo - FAB.

On Monday, Emily and I went to palermo soho in search for boots and found nothing after 2 hours and got caught in the downpour rain, we ducked into ABC cafe on scalibrini ortiz for some submarinos and medialunas. Yesterday after class at USAL I met up with Emily, Edson, and Charlotte in Palermo Soho so we could all go shopping and no one got anything 😞 I did have the most amazing empanada caprese from esquina de los flores, and also freddo white chocolate :D

Last night I wanted to check out a local bar with becca for just a few innocent cocktails. Well one too many cuba libres later, we ended up in puerto madero at asia de cuba for some private party there and danced to 80s music til 3 am...bad idea when you have class at 9 the next morning. aprovechar. i'm about to go work out at the sketch gym which hopefully will give a more interesting story to write about.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb