19.8.08


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 19th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

weekend was pretty good...friday we went to a masquerade ball at alsina with edson and joe...it was so lame. the music was awful, lots of old dudes...becca, olivia, and charlotte took a cab to meet us but didn't get in even though we had 3 free passes left, i was so pissed. we left kind of early for us haha.

SATURDAY..what an event. so saturday I met taryn for lunch at las violetas, what else is new, whenever it was that I rolled out of bed. In general, I hate going out to boliches all night because I inevitably sleep til 2 or 3 in the afternoon after getting home at 7 and end up wasting my days here. So head pounding and feeling like crap I dragged myself out of bed for a crepe and coca light and decided we should go to the zoologico jardin (zoo). by the time we got there it was 5, the zoo doesn't close til 6 but I guess the stop letting people in an hour in advance? whack. so then we walked around a good amount, taking random pictures and then we went to Plaza de Mayo to see the crypt of San Martin, por fin. We got there and the Church was incredible...I'm the least religious person ever but even I appreciated it for what it was. Church was in session when we got there so we had to be quiet and couldn't take pictures. Martin's crypt was closed but we could still see it and it's really impressive, I definitely want to go back when it's open some day. After that we walked to the back, or actually the front of, Casa Rosada and took pictures of the back yard...debating whether or not the grounds are bigger than the White House, we're not sure. Walked around some more, sacared some fotos and bounced. Here is where things get really interesting. I get on linea a, I'm in a daze as usual, probably still hung over and unable to think or comprehend castellano very well. The train comes to a halt after Plaza Misere. Long story short, someone was killing someone in the tracks in front of our train, it was the scariest moment ever. The guy was totally cracked out wearing nothing but adidas track pants, no shoes or shirt. We had to block his exit and wait for the police to come and ambush him on the other side...so NOT ok. Later, I met Charlotte and Edson for dinner at Cumana but we couldn't get in because there was a 2 hour wait. We went to Duero instead and split pizza and this chicken dish. After we went to Edson's new place and ordered some vodka from the kiosko. We went to Flux bar which is a total underground dive, but Edson befriended the Russian owner so maybe we can get some piels de iguanas on the house next time..fingers are crossed. Then we went to the WRONG roxy in "la costa negra" aka the ghetto, it was so sketch right by the water..kids from home if you are reading it's like copacabana or exit or prom night at webster hall, too sketch. Then we went to the OTHER better roxy where our friends were and danced to 80s, 90s, and current jams with liz, em, and liz's friends from her conference/hotel. Got home at 7:30 AGAIN...great.

Sunday woke up at about 3 again cause I was so freakin' tired after Roxy, just like last time. Met Charlotte and Edson for a lunch at cumana and it's freaking closed between 4 and 6 all they serve is mate...wtfff can a guy get a cazuela or what. So we walk around and around and realize every cafe closes it's kitchen between 4 and 6 and only serves cafe and postres except for this one on the corner of callao and cordoba that was so overpriced with a dickhead waiter who hated us. Paid 25 pesos for a fucking omelette whatever. That night Becca and I shared a nasty bottle of vino blanco at the oldest, so fun glad we finally checked it out. then we met up with edson and charlote at crobar for the private university party at estudio crobar. So it was fun at first, lots of fun American music. Then I paid 25 pesos for a g and t, it was sooo overpriced. Then it turned into a techno moshpit of death...people pushing it was nuts. At one point a huge fight broke out, the DJs stopped the music and half the dancefloor got involved in this huge shove fest we all got shoved to one side of the wall it was just awful. We went home at like 5 am.

Monday was the anniversary of San Martin's death so we had a dia libre. I met Taryn for lunch at Los PorteƱos, a really cute cafe near her house on Las Heras and something or other. Afterwards we went to MALBA, the museum of modern art which was interesting...lots of weird stuff that you would find at the MOMA, a lot of which I wasn't a huge fan of. Like I can create a cardboard box and put a lightbulb in it too...but they do play Rocky Horror Picture show at midnight this friday...I may just have to aprovechar. It's in a great little neighborhood too...I think it might be Palermo Chico I'm not sure though...lots of huge houses with driveways and gates...really pretty.

Today I had my first opera class and it looks like it's gonna be a breeze/interesting. the people are really nice. we go see 3 operas including a trip to ciudad la plata for a day which is awesome. I had my first class at USAL today...I looked on the horario and saw that the class was moved to this time and this room and showed up and it was a political economy class. I stayed in it because it was interesting and I could understand the professor, and even most of the students. Plus, I believe I heard him say that the class ends Nov 4th...score! Tomorrow I have to go to the USAL office of extranjeros and talk to Andrea and find out about the seminar I'm supposed to be in though, maybe it's the same one under a different name? Espero que si...

Tomorrow I have lit class and taryn and I are gonna make bus/hostel reservations for rosario which I'm really pumped for. Other than that, I think that's the cliff notes version of what happened the past 4-5 days. hasta luego

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb