amazing weekend


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

weekend was amazing! it was hard to top our little family outing at the eco reserve but friday night we went barhopping in palermo soho, around plaza serrano and ended up at clara, which was a two floor bar that was very argentine, we were the only americans there. there was a mini boliche upstairs playing reggaeton music, it was really fun. saturday becca and i went on another romantic date. we went to the carlos thays botanical gardens in palermo which was really nice, then we went to the japanese gardens which were AMAZING. it was really small, with a pond full of huge koi fish that you could feed and just different plants there are indigenous to japan, well worth the 5 pesos it cost. after having lunch we went to museo evita, which was really funny. it was an old mansion and it felt like they just were trying really hard to fill the space they had. there was a lot of evita's old clothes and accessories (woman was stylin profilin 24/7) and then a bunch of random stuff, like a sewing machine that might have looked like the one her mother used, a state of the virgin mary, a faux kitchen complete with dried pasta and fake meat "grilling." a little strange but we were eating lunch legit right next door so we couldn't not go.

saturday night was SOO fun easily one of the best nights since I've been here. First off we went to Bangalore, an amazing curry pub. The 5 of us shared 3 entrees and a huge platter that sampled everything on the menu and it was amazingg food. Nice and spicy, I love curry so I was really happy. We also shared 3 bottles of wine, and becca and I split this huge pitcher of gin and tonic for 14 pesos. they muddled the drink with lemon and lime so it was so refreshing, literally like sipping iced tea. So after a few hours of drinking and being quintessential loud americans we moved the party to plaza serrano at utopia where we sat outside with some of olivia's friends. this random american had joined their crowd, turns out she used to live in stuy town and she works at the credit suisse building on 23rd..small world huh? Then we went to Niceto which was AMAZING. this band played Brazilian hip hop and it was sooo sick. before that they were playing 50s salsa/swing music it felt like were in Havana it was soo fun. I had such a good time, the people here are awesome I'm really lucky to have met them.

today becca and I met at las violetas, por supuesto, and went to la boca. I had pumped myself up for La Boca and it really isn't all that. It's def worth the trip to go and see the colorful houses. Apparently the people that moved there were ashamed of the way the houses looked, I guess compared to the rest of the city, so they went to the port and stole paint from the ships and painted their houses these bright colors over night. I guess they've been maintaining them ever since? I'd be interested to find that out. We walked calle camanito, the main street in La Boca and it was fine. There are def shanty town points in la boca so we didn't really stay for very long. There was also a partido going on so there were a ton of people and we were kind of nervous about getting pick pocketed. We walked up to san telmo and somehow ended up on defensa, so that makes the 3rd san telmo fair in 3 weeks (wow I've gone every sunday, I'm lame)...so I'm kind of over san telmo for a little bit.

the family got a kitten! gustavo's niece is moving and had 3 cats. I guess the place she has now is significantly smaller so we adopted one of her kittens named frida. Frida is really cute, so small and furry but very shy. Gustavo says she's que fea but I disagree. I also met Angeles' mother in law. She told me that her mother died when she was very young, and when she was 8 her father remarried this woman. She's really nice, I also met her nephew who was quite the looker but I was on my way out the door to go to la boca...es la vida. tonight becca and i are meeting people at a wine bar in our hood which should be fun, and tomorrow I start classes at UBA dear god i hope they are better than ditella!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb