Arrived!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
September 26th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nick:
Here we are after a long flight, finally on Argentine soil.

The flight was delayed, of course, and the flight was packed to capacity and we were left with middle of the middle seats!! And once on board I found that my immediate neighbour could only be described as corpulant and very enthusiastic about letting everyone know he was yawning.... On top of which he was evidently a technophobe as he kept asking me the same question every 30 or so minutes and that was how to work the remote control for the LCD in the back of the seat in front of him: " no you don´t poke the screen, you use the armrest control pad" (he could not see this as it was below his personal horizon) so I spent the night reaching over to show him how to switch channels...." yes it is just like the last time I showed you...fancy that, eh?" Luckily, his elbow was just the right shape to fit into the crevice that used to contain my right kidney.
Despite all that, and despite trying to be annnoyed by it, I had to laugh and he was actually quite a nice guy, insisting on us visiting his beach resort restaurant when we go through.
On the plus side this was my first flight on a Jumbo jet (they don´t land gracefully) so that was nice.
It is now 13.15 AR time and I´m killing the 1.5 hrs I have to wait before the bike is brought out fo the customs holding area, and so far the whole process has not been the red tape fetish party I had been told it would be.
Argentines seem to be a very friendly bunch so far. Airports and railway stations are usually the domain of the rushed and the surly, but not here. One bloke even bought us some chocolate biscuits simply because we where lunching on a bench and we´d said hello!! Say hello to a stranger in London and you´d better be wearing running shoes! No photos today as I can´t down load them on this PC and the caffeine in my system needed to function on 3 hrs sleep makes olding a camera steady a bit difficult! Tilll next time, amigos....arriba, arriba!

Kristina:
We are in Argentina!!! I still cannot believe it. I´m so used to planning ahead and running around that the concept of a 3 month holiday has still not quite sank in... But I´ll get there, and I have a feeling that once I´m there it will be really difficult to get back - but I´ll think about that later 😊 On the plane, the old man sitting next to Nick was hilarous 😊 Nick will hate me for this 😊 But how can you not smile when someone next to you is watching TV through a magnifying glass (literally!! - like inspecting a rare insect) and walking to the toilets with his head-set still plugged onto his seat - Nick will make a good father / carer one day 😊)
The Cargo Terminal of BA is really nice (that´s the only thing I´ve seen so far). The people are friendly (even though I´m getting a lot of stareing... but in a nice way - I hope!). I must say that argentinian man are rather good looking - added bonus to my 2-hour wait when Nick was mingling with the customs staff.
Hopefully we´ll be able to get the bike up and running today. Eric and Emily are waiting for us already. We´ll be spending a day or two in BA and then head off towards Patagonia!!!!! Vow.
We will keep you posted on our adventures during the next 89 days!




Advertisement



26th September 2006

The standards has been set...
Fantastic first foreign blog - you guys have now set the entertainment standard, so we'll be looking forward to the next installment(s - assuming you don't get stymied at the first hurdle of passport control!) Keep us posted - and have fun!
26th September 2006

wow!
Venga! Que bueno! I'm so excited for you, it must be great to be there at last! Not that I'm jealous or anything... Post some pictures soon, Richard will love to see Patagonia - I'm sure he will start planning a trip there too, good luck, say HI to Eric, Radka
26th September 2006

Good luck!!!!
Hello, my friends! So far so good. The story is starting to evolve, I see. Can't wait to see the pictures and to read about your adventures. Keep in touch! I whish you a pleasant journey and a safe return! GOOD LUCK! (And above all: be vigilant, avoid fishy situations, stay safe etc. etc. - you know, the stuff every "annoying" parent would say :))) Andrej
26th September 2006

Argentinian chocolate biscuits huh?
Hello to both of you - enjoyed reading your latest update, Nick I could not help but imagine your face on that plane, sitting next to the sweaty man trying to help him - ha ha! Glad everything is ok so far, I have bad news - cant tape Lost as I am exhausted and the video will make too much noise, so you will have to borrow the dvd from me, or come round to watch it. Have just got home (about 9.45) and so tired I coud cry...yes yes I know its my own fault etc etc... Anyway looking forward to the next update, take care both of you especially Nick on your bike (Kristina hold on tight!) Nick
27th September 2006

You finally arrived!!!
Glad you got there, after all those months of talking and planning!!! Hope the bike got there too..... (!). Can't wait to hear all your tales for the next 3 months xx
27th September 2006

Hi
Hi Kurochka and Bad Boy, I am really happy that you arrived safely. Good luck and keep in touch! vrubel
27th September 2006

Here we go agin
Hi lovies glad you got there ok. After Ollie and Tracy's year round the world I am getting good at reading these holiday updates........ mind you if they get to long and boring your friends comment might be a better read - only joking! Sorry I will not be providing a journal for my weekend in Munich or my week in Spain. Anyway take both of you missing you already! CJx
28th September 2006

glad you arrived in one piece
HI guys glad you arrived safe and sound and that yuou had such a great experience of your first jumbo. now you will be weel experienced to come ont he 24 hours trip to Aus. Hope you have a great time and look forward to seeing the pics. I am in interview hell and hope to have accepted a job next week. will let you know when i amthe proud owner of a new job. give Eric and Emily a big hug from me. Take care an give yourselves big hugs from me. Karynxxx

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb