My history lessons on Buenos Aires, and first day on the subway


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 12th 2015
Published: January 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today we had a news warning that there was a heat wave and that temperatures would stay at 38 degrees all afternoon in Buenos Aires. I had planned to go to Cordoba this morning but I didn’t want to travel in such conditions and I had some unfinished history lessons to attend in Buenos Aires before leaving it. The history lesson took on the form of a walking tour around the famous historical sites – the National Congress, the Palacio, Avenida de Mayo, the Evita mural, Cabildo and Plaza de Mayo. I got a quick glance at Peronismo, Argentina’s dictatorships, Argentina’s political history and the famous economic crisis.



After Antonio’s (the hostel owner) thorough demonstration of how to test for fake peso bills and why the blue market exists I now felt confident at changing my money in Calle Florida. The only problem was I changed at the legal rate which defeats the purpose. When I came back to Antonio to explain the rate I got, he told me that it was wrong and he sent me to change money with a more sincere man in the neighbourhood.



Today was also the first day I took the subway. I was pleased to find that it wasn’t anything like the images that the locals painted - a pick-pocketing and mugging hell. It was well organised and safe so long as you kept an eye on your belongings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb