the thunderstorm after yesterday's heatwave


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 13th 2015
Published: January 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I was all packed and ready to leave for Cordoba but in the morning there was a thunder storm. On the news I saw that all holidaymakers had been evacuated from the beach, somebody was trapped by a falling tree and parts of Buenos Aires were flooded. The weather was forecasted to be no better in Cordoba so I decided to hold off my travel plans for another day. I spent the morning thoroughly planning my last 2 weeks in Buenos Aires for the end of February and integrating it with trips to Montevideo in Uruguay and a weekend on a ranch, and using the hostel I’m staying in now as a base.



Once the rain stopped I went out to change my money from US dollars to pesos after my unsuccessful attempt to get a good rate yesterday on the blue market in Calle Florida. The hostel owner’s son showed me an exchange place in the local area. Ready for round two I went out and successfully changed 200 dollars for double the bank rate in a change office. The place was disguised as another shop and a well-dressed man was on the door. He opened the door saying ‘Buenos dias Senorita.’’



By 6pm I’d found the graveyard where Eva Peron was buried after getting lost for an hour or so. Unfortunately it was closing at 6pm so I added it on to my intinerary at the end of my trip to BA ‘a nice stroll in the cemetery.’’


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb