Buenos Aires - A small city


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 24th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bariloche to Buenos Aires

In coche cama

I´ve spent in Buenos Aires 3 weeks, not because you really need so much time to see all the main attractions the city has to offer, but just because I had such a great time there.
In the middle I'd left for Iguazu, only to return a few days latter, because I've felt I hadn't exhausted Buenos yet, but Iguazu is a totally different story.

Actually Buenos Aires is a huge city, with population of 3 million in the city itself, and around 12 million in the metropolitan, and when I first arrived to Buenos I was astonished by its size - we went on a highway for about 40 minutes from the outskirts of the city till its center.
But all the attractions are conveniently concentrated in its center, so you don't have to travel allot to see'em.

For me Buenos was mostly the night life, which rocked, and was the best from the start of my trip.
The only bad thing to say about it, is that in the middle of the week it's hard to find good discos, and most of the night life concentrates in the pubs.
The discos here are simply amazing, by their
On the wayOn the wayOn the way

Cotche Cama. This is the middle class of the buses in Argentina
size and quality.
The funny thing was that locals go to the more stylish ones in formal clothes, so it´s very different from the discos back home - you could see here allot of people dressed up in suits and night dresses.

I've also met in Buenos some old friends, with whom I hanged out - Ray whom I've met totally by accident in Bariloche, without knowing he´s went to SA, and Salit who finally made her way here from Israel / Italy, and had the pleasure to make some great new ones, especially Pedro from Brazil, who helped me allot.

The city itself is really nice - some areas of it are pretty green, others with interesting architecture, every one has it's own characteristic and character -

* The Micro Centro with some interesting obelisks
* La Boca which is famous for the best football team in Argentina, colorful buildings, but which is at the same time the poorer and the more dangerous one.
* Recoleta for its spectacular graveyard, where each grave is almost a palace
* San Telmo the oldest, and with the most interesting architecture
* Puerto Madero as the port of Buenos
In a restaurantIn a restaurantIn a restaurant

With Salit, Shay, and their Italian and Colombian friends. I was really frustrated in the start of the dinner, because I couldn't understand a word they were saying. I knew my Spanish was bad, but I didn't think it was that bad. After a few minutes they explained me they were speaking in Italian! That was so hilarious!!

* Palermo for the night life



Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

In Opera BayIn Opera Bay
In Opera Bay

The best disco ever!
In the zooIn the zoo
In the zoo

A philosopher
Micro CentroMicro Centro
Micro Centro

The main obelisk of the city. You can see it from every where in the micro centro. In this location the independence of Argentina has been decalred
Micro CentroMicro Centro
Micro Centro

Avenida 9 de Julio. How many lanes are there?
Micro CentroMicro Centro
Micro Centro

Tango show in Florida and Lavalle streets.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb