El Bolson, Lago Puelo


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Río Negro » El Bolsón
April 22nd 2006
Published: May 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

El BolsonEl BolsonEl Bolson

Non-Nuclear zone! How can it be hippie otherwise??
El Bolson is a hippie town, approximately 120km south to Bariloche,
situated in an amazing valley.

Before coming to El Bolson I thought that 'hippie' and 'Argentinian' are 2 words that cannot represent the same person, but El Bolson proved otherwise.
There everything is very tranquil, and in the local market you can find different crafts that show its' true nature, like medicines for horses, different stones, herbs, and organic food.

After spending some time at the market, I went to a nearby farm to do some fruit-picking.
One of the workers there told me that it's the end of the season, and that all I can find is just a few bad strawberries, so she won't charge me for the entrance.
The truth was that I had never seen so much strawberry, and it all was so fresh and delicious!
I spent there an hour or two just eating.
I wonder how it looks like in the season...

In the afternoon I went for the Cabeza del Indio hike, which is a few hours hike to a hill next to El Bolson.
The hike took me twice as it was supposed to take, because on the way I found allot of black raspberry just growing around the trail, so I of course couldn't resist it...

At evening I took a bus to Lago Puelo which is a small village 18km from El Bolson, to the legendary Israeli farm there.
The farm has been built by Israelis a few years ago on a nice location, by the river bed.
Some people get stuck in the farm for months, and after arriving there I could understand why.
I found there great food such as 'Humus' which I missed so much after leaving Israel, 'Malavah' and 'Jahnun', as well as great nature just next door, as I went the next day to the lake.
And most importantly, they also grow there red raspberry.
I was told once again that it's the end of the season and that I won't find much, and once again I had never seen so much raspberry in one place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

El BolsonEl Bolson
El Bolson

A typical street
El BolsonEl Bolson
El Bolson

Can a tree be more yellow than this?
El BolsonEl Bolson
El Bolson

The strawberry field
Cabeza del Indio hikeCabeza del Indio hike
Cabeza del Indio hike

Some raspberry on the way
Cabeza del Indio hikeCabeza del Indio hike
Cabeza del Indio hike

This is supposed to be the Indean head
'Hahava''Hahava'
'Hahava'

The respberry
Lago PueloLago Puelo
Lago Puelo

Automn as it's supposed to be


22nd May 2006

Perfect
Perfect Place, how he is friend? good trip for you and writes me. Bye !!
1st February 2007

Calabaza -Pumpkin
Hi Vitality, Loved the pics!! Just a quick one, calabaza means pumpkin in SPanish. The treck is actually Cabeza del Indio "Indian's Head"...I am ever so happy that people visit the town were I speant my teenage years!! Happy you enjoyed it! :)

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 91; dbt: 0.1881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb