Bienvenidos a Buenos Aires/We May Die in this City: Updated with Photos and a Few More Stories


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So the last few days have been, as Aaron Berry Cook puts it, an alcoholic haze. Yesterday Brett and I actually did some productive things we walked around the city and saw some sights. We walked through Recoleta which is a really nice part of the city and reminded me a lot of Paris. There were all kinds of high end shops and stores lining the street. I bought a new Barca jacket since I had the Holland one stolen. I got a belt, which I needed since I have just been wearing a Peruvian sash for the last two months. It really isn’t Buenos Aires material. The new belt is brown and sweet. After that I got a haircut which was super productive. I have just been burning through cash here which is easy to do, this place is huge. It is just a constant party at our hostel all the time and people are just rowdy and keen for whatever is clever. We went to a pub crawl last night and Aaron I ended up jogging to this bar why I don’t know. I ended up losing my wallet and my credit card in a cab last night, don’t worry though it only had 100 pesos in it and my credit card which I cancelled at 5am while eating some empanadas. Today is Cinco de Mayo but here they call it MEXICAN DAY which is pretty ridiculous but I find it hilarious. I got too drunk at the club and had to go home, a little dejected about my wallet and passed out around six am after cancelling my credit card. We have had some drinks today and the hostel is giving away free tequila all day so that’s a plus. Happy Mexican Day everyone. I have no pictures to report yet because I sleep all day and party all night. Soooo, other than sleeping all day, I have done a few productive and fun things. We went to an amazing club outside of the city called Terrazas. It had like four dance floors and a huge outside dance area. There were tons of people there, amazing looking women and everyone was dressed to the nines. Anyways we stayed out at that place till seven am and I slept only until noon when a Brazilian girl I met named Egly came into my room and asked if I wanted to go with her and her friend to see some of the city. I thought I was dreaming I was like who is this gorgeous girl coming into my room speaking this foreign language to me? Hahahah it was pretty funny but of course I said yes I wanted to go so Joey and I went with them and walked around all day long and saw a bunch of sites together. These girls spoke really no English and very poor Spanish so Joey and I had a hell of a time understanding what they were saying. It was really great though, because they were so cute and just so nice and understanding that we didn’t have any clue what they were saying that it wasn’t even that big of a deal. We all had lunch together and some wine and it was a really nice day. They lost their camera today which sucked for them, so I had to give them the few pictures of the girls together that I had. After that we came back to the hostel and I felt so bad after seven days of straight partying that I slept for another three hours or so, and our buddy Aaron had just finished his shift at the bar and was getting on the piss and hitting it hard. When I woke up he was still drinking and we all played some Aussie rules pool and I had a couple beers, nothing serious. After that game we went to dinner at an all you can eat place where they had all you can eat steak, salad, and all different kinds of paella and some Chinese food if you can believe it. We went with a few other travellers and stuffed ourselves full of meat and fish and veggies. It was a great meal. We came back to the hostel and they had a live band playing so we hung out and listened to them for a while, Aaron got so hammered and after I went to bed he passed out on the couch down here and some of his Aussie buddies wrote all kinds of lewd shit all over his face and body. I haven’t seen him yet today so I think he is probably hiding in shame but I hear there were some pictures taken so I want to see those. Today I woke up around noon and went and got some food and coffee with Joey and Brett and then some pizza to bring back to the hostel. I am slowly but surely getting my life in order and detoxing. Matt and Phil arrive on Friday morning so all I have to do is survive the week in order to live another week. Hopefully you enjoy some of these pictures and I realize that the writing isn’t up to par but it’s been a long seven days and I think once I get back to normal I will be good to go. Talk with everyone later on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



9th May 2011

OMG Tommy- be carefull- sound like way too too much fun!!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb