Don´t Cry for Me Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 20th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

For the past 3 weeks now I have been Couchsurfing around Buenos Aires and checking out the city. It has certainly been an adventure. I don´t think I have ever seen so much art in my life. The count now is close to 25 art museums and galleries!

For the first 10 days I stayed with a guy named Luciano, who was also hosting an Italian couple and another guy from Austria. We all had some good times together making dinner, drinking wine, and talking politics (which ofted means talking shit about the US government 😊 Johanness (the Austrian) and I often explored the city together as well as exchanging books and reading quite a bit. I don´t have a whole lot to say about these days because I spent most of my time reading. I read a book that Johanness lent me, which the name of I can´t remember, and also "The Materese Circle" by Robert Ludlum. It was really intense, Robert Ludlum certainly makes espionage real. During my time at Lucianos I started feeling very claustrophobic in this big city. I have now been in a city longer than ever before and I am pretty excited to be getting out of it for awhile. (Perhaps a bad sign considering my choice of university!)

After Luciano´s I moved to a different couch in the house of Fred, a French ex-pat and major partier. We went out quite a bit to different couch-surfing parties and it was a lot of fun, but I was glad when our time was over because I was more comfortable with the reading!

My last couchsurfing host was a couple named Alexis and Layra. They were absolutely fantastic! The showed me pictures of their various trips around Argentina and the places that I will be going. Fed me without letting me pay them back and took me out to Palermo Soho for drinks and good company. We also went and explored another graveyard, which I think is always fun.

And finally for the past 4 days I have been staying with Josefina and her sister Marina (whom I wrote about earlier in my blog). It has been really great. They have a beautiful house an hour north of Buenos Aires in Olivos, I was actually able to experience silence for the first time in a month and a half! It was wonderful! They have been more than gracious. We´ve been talking about everything from politics, to music, to life philosophy, to Charlie the Unicorn (if you don´t know Charlie the Unicorn, go to youtube right now!). I am sad to be leaving them today, but very excited to be starting a new chapter in my travels. After I finish this blog entery I am headed to Cañuelas and my first farm!!!! Yaya! Very excited.

And I´m off!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



20th January 2011
Photo 17

Byebye
Lovely final photo before the farm.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb