Why am I here?


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 24th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Picnic on the roofPicnic on the roofPicnic on the roof

Caitlin making gin and tonics
Tonight we saw another film at the film festival. It was about a gypsy boy who lives in Spain and a Japanese girl who moves to Spain. The boy sings but has recently stopped because he is in mourning...his father died a year earlier. The girl wants to sing like a famous Flamenco singer but goes home after a few months because her father dies.

The movie got me thinking about why I am here. I realized I ony answer the question "Why are you here?" On a superficial level. I know there are deeper reasons and I need to look at those, to explore them deeply, to understand why I am here. By answering this question now I hope to push my self deeper into my journey.

Lizzz, why are you here?

On the most basic level I am here because I have always, always, always questioned things. In many regards I left because I needed to find answers somewhere else. I wasn't getting the answers I needed at home. It was getting to the point where I wasn't even asking questions anymore.

Leading up to my move to Argentina can be broken down into
Picnic on the roofPicnic on the roofPicnic on the roof

Alice, Caitlin and Jennie
four clear moments in my life:

Going to Spain: Spain was the first time I spent any extended period outside of the USA. I got a taste for a new culture and a new language. Because of this I was able to see so much about where I came from and who I was. When I went back to the States I carried with me new ideas that to this day make up very important parts of who I am and how I think.

Reading the books Off the Map and Atlas of the Human Heart: Both given to me by Erica and they filled my heart with ideas of running away to somewhere unknown. I wanted to learn more about who I was without the restrictions of who people knew me as.

Starting at C.I.E.L.O. I quickly learned that I love teaching and love giving people the tools they need to empower themselves.

Going to Ecuador: Going to Ecuador reminded me of how badly I needed to leave. When I came home Mom told me I had to go before it was too late. Her telling me to leave the biggest expression of her love I have seen. Here I am.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



28th April 2006

4/28/80
your birth date!!! Happy, happy birthday, Sweet Pea!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb