Shopping, Partying and Cabbing it in BA


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
April 24th 2010
Published: September 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

The rest of my tour group's last day in BA. So sad. I wish they could have stayed longer or I could have gone with them up to Brazil.

In the day time, we went to the cemetery where Eva Peron's (Evita) grave is. The graves were elaborate to say the least- all little buildings beautifully designed. It didn't look like a cemetery at all. We managed to pick up a crazy Saffa outside Vikki's hostel who was a bit snap happy with his camera and a bit fast-running with his mouth. Not a favourite of mine.

We then left and went to market (which was right outside.)

I love this market! It's full of stuff priced to rip of tourists but it's still pretty cheap. As a big group, we decided go our own ways and meet up later. I went straight for the jewellery, others went for leather bags and belts. By the time we had to meet, no one had finished circumnavigating the market so we gave ourselves another hour.

An hour goes quickly when shopping! Poor Vijay stuck with the all the girls. We lost the Saffa though that was definitely a plus point - he found someone more interesting to hang out with. Thank God.

Next to the big metal flower in the park where some sort of eco-fate was going on with bands, stalls and lots of vegetarians. Didn't know there was such a thing in Argentina but apparently they're in abundance!

Back to the hostel to get ready! Then met Vicki to take a walk to the other's hotel. We all sat and chatted for ages and Tam and I went out with a few people from her new tour.

We went to get in a cab but the cabbie outright refused to take five of us in one cab so we split. Got to the club for their new tour leader, Juan's birthday (who I'd met before in Bolivia and in Club 69.)

The club was the most confusing thing ever to get into. The bouncer asked if we had a reservation, which we didn't so he told us to go through the other door and points to the left. This would have been pretty simple, if there had been another door! So went back, looked blankly at him and just asked if we could come in. He obliged.

We propped ourselves up at the bar waiting for the others get there. Lettie, Alex and James arrived and had the same trouble as us (or even more because they didn't understand Spanish) they were shortly followed by David, Philippe, Juan and a host of people I didn't know.

For some reason, Argentina loves 80s music and that's exactly what the DJ played until he finally played some decent Spanish music. It was lovely to see David and Philippe again(even though it had only been two days - ha!) Love those guys.

A little way through the night, I was standing at the bar chatting with Tam, turned round and Pablo was standing at the bar next to me! Didn't expect to see him again so that was a surprise!

Went for a dance with the girls and then with everyone. Eventually everyone slowly left and I stayed with David, Philippe and Pablo. At some point, David left which was sad because I didn't get a chance to say goodbye.

It was then time to head back to the hostel which was an experience in itself. I hate (yes, hate) taking cabs on my own but had to for the first time since I was 17! And...I forgot the name of my hostel! My driver was really nice and gave me a lecture about how I should always carry a card from my hostel so I know how to get home. I was so relieved when we found it. I think the cabby was worried about me because he waited and watched me walk into the hostel. I threw myself straight into bed and fell straight to sleep. Interesting night.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 98; dbt: 0.1224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb