Tango, Steak, Mate and Shopping in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a 21 hour over-night bus ride from Bariloche the last thing I wanted to do was explore but as soon as we arrived I knew that I had saved one of the best cities for last...wow, I have fallen for BA! It´s been described as the Paris of South America with its plazas, parks, cafes, and architecture...it´s truly a beautiful city and I definitely have to live here one day (after I learn spanish!).

We headed out shopping for a hot outfit for our tango lesson and first night out in BA. I didn´t really think my sneakers, black cargo pants, and long sleeve Joe Fresh shirt fit the scene 😉 After that was done we all crashed for a nap (this is a must before heading out on the town in BA...this city is seriously nocturnal!). Well it was definitely a big night out in Buenos Aires... the tango lesson was hilarious as it´s much slower and more romantic than salsa or samba. I thought I had the hang of it until we sat down for our dinner and ´professional´tango show later on that evening...yes, I had a LOT of practicing to do...haha. We met some locals who invited us to a great lounge in Palermo at an outdoor patio with bonfires. We spent the rest of the night trying to dance the tango to pop/dance music...hilarious!!

The next day we spent at our friend´s house in a beautiful neighbourhood in BA. We BBQ´ed steaks and sampled three reserve malbec wines from Mendoza - I think I can officially say that life is too short to drink cheap wine...it was an amazing meal with good friends 😊 We also had a mate tasting with three different types...it´s prepared from steeping dried leaves of yerba mate in hot water...so pretty much RIGHT up my alley!!!

I also took some time to see the Presidential Palace and we sang Evita´s song on her balcony 😊 We decided to tour the stadium of La Boca Juniors (Argentina´s best futbol team!!) and then wandered La Boca neighbourhood with its colourful buildings, cobblestones, and random tango lessons on the street...this area is the birthplace of tango so it was cool to just take it all in. That night we made reservations at the BEST steakhouse in Argentina...we got a prime time at 10pm (this is actually still considered early for dinner in BA...haha). We reminisced about the last two weeks, enjoyed a malbec reserve and had the most delicious steak (I am now converted to rare!). I cannot imagine leaving this city when I am just beginning to find my groove in it but the falls of Iguazu are calling...

Advertisement



6th August 2010

Food, Wine, Friends!
I am so happy you won't drink cheap wine anymore! I need to get some tips on argentinian malbecs.. I feel like they are all good!
9th August 2010

There is no point in eating a steak unless its practically breathing and you can hear a distant Moo... glad you've learned this lesson ;)

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb