Around the world in an Hour


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I watched the Argentina game, and of course that requires drinking a beer! Getting home I don't feel like homework, and I learned a very important fact in school. That fact clears up a big problem i have been having, which is I only brought one pen with me and it keeps running out of ink and starting again. I keep looking for a stationary store. Well today we are learning in class all household items, and i finally ask how to ask where can i buy a pen. It turns out the place is called a Libreria. This is confusing me because it is the same name i know as a bookstore, but she is the teacher and is standing there "this is not a bookstore" about 3 times.

I'm not sure what happened, but as she is sitting down, i ask, "what is the name for a bookstore?" Of course she says libreria and busts out uncontrollably laughing, contagiously of course. After about 5 minutes we find out if you are asking for one, the other person should ask you para libros or para utilios. (i think this is where i went wrong)

Anyway back to my needing a pen. Armed with now knowing how to ask where stuff is (like the libreria) I start out on a walk. Little voice telling me this will be a waste of time, but it's ok to get some exercise. Up three blocks to a big street, looking for librerias, left or right... left away from the 16 lane avenue where things tend to cost more. down 3 blocks, lots of librerias para libros, but none para utilios. I stand, look, finally build up courage, review my sentence structure dive in... Whew, of course the response is fast and furious, head shaking...pointing... knows some english but not much, i am catching cuadro (city block) and 1km... then goes to another vendor, they discus it and decide i am to go up one street to a street name that sounds a lot like "street". Lavelle. But the direction is back the way i came and one further from home and I'm to go to the big avenue. anyway at that corner i ask another magazine vendor, He.. first gesturing this way then no, and looks at his watch. Across the big avenue (remember 4 street lights to get across?) and dos cuadras. Off i go. two blocks and one more to be sure.

Another magazine vendor, he tells me to go back to the same place i asked the first guy, I realize he is telling me where to buy books. no, after i gesture and use lapiz (pen) he directs me 2 blocks perpendicular. I walked about a half block and decided maybe the 2nd guy was right, so I backtracked walking slower and looking at every business. Nothing. I get about 1/2 block from home and decide to try the local chinese run grocery store ... yep bic pens 1.5 pesos. Isn't there some old addage about going around the world and finding what you were looking for at home? I just looked up utilios just now on google, it came up with 'used' (i don't have my notes in front of me,) maybe next time i should review before heading out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb