my neighborhood


Advertisement
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

my apartment buildingmy apartment buildingmy apartment building

I'm on the second story.
So I'm finally posting some pictures from my neighborhood. I have a picture from the outside of my apartment, a picture of the parilla across the street, a picture of my fruit stand, a picture of my cheese store, and the church that's a few blocks away. These are some of the sites I see every day.

I went to La Boheme on saturday night with Emily and Melanie. The opera was really entertaining. Much more modern than I anticipated. The only other opera I had seen was Mozart's "Magic Flute" in college in Chicago. It was pretty long, and somewhat borning. But La Boheme was easy to follow (thanks to the spanish subtitles projected above the stage), the music was good, it was funny, and it was easy to relate to the characters. Plus the dialogue wasn't to archaic. It was really enjoyable. Plus, Teatro Colon, as I had been told, is magnificent. Pictures didn't come out well, though I plan on taking a tour during the daytime when it will be more light and can take better pics. It's very ornate, and you know what they say. If it's not Baroque . . . don't fix it.
my living room my living room my living room

I have a nice balcony that looks out onto the street.

I also booked my plans this weekend for Semana Santa (Holy Week). Emily and I are taking the bus to Mendoza, Argentina (about 12 hrs away) overnight next Saturday (the 8th). We're spending the 9th-11th in Mendoza visiting the city and it's vineyards. Then we're flying on LAN Chile to Santiago (just over the mountains) and spending the next couple of days visiting that city and perhaps visiting some of the beach cities nearby. We're staying with one of Emily's friends in Santiago. Then, we fly back to Buenos Aires on Monday morning (I think it's April 17th) in time for me to make my Monday night class. I'm pretty excited. Not only to see some new parts of Argentina/Chile, but also to get out of the city for a few days. And, as it's fall here, it will be nice to enjoy the weather before it gets cold.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

fruit standfruit stand
fruit stand

This is about a block away. It's where I buy my fruit and veg.
my cheese and wine storemy cheese and wine store
my cheese and wine store

Two doors down from my fruit stand, and half a block from my bread store.
church near my aptchurch near my apt
church near my apt

This church is about 2 blocks away, and is infront of a small park (which is getting renovated right now). It's right next to the gym I go to and several cafes.


7th April 2006

Nice photos!
Hey Chris I hope you have a great time here and learn about us. Enjoy your break holiday in Mendoza and Chile. If you are going to be in Argentina several months I recomend you visiting the south like Bariloche, Calafate and Ushuaia in winter! Greetings!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb