Buenos Aires!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
December 4th 2009
Published: December 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola Chicos y Chicas!

Ok, so blogging is a completely new thing that seems a little bit weird to me, as I normally associate blogging with über-cool Hoxton media types! But, loads of people I have met while travelling in these last 2 weeks have recommended it to me, so with the help of a lovely, and "effective", as she describes herself, German girl, here it is. Ta-daaaa! Katrina´s South America blog!...

So, I landed in Buenos Aires on Saturday 20th November...is this really uncool blogging? I feel like I need to make it funny or kooky or something, so...POO...there, it is MUCH funnier now.

Anyway, I got to Buenos Aires after a big delay on British Airways and having to sit next to a couple of really loud middle-aged ladies who had booked their trip through Trailfinders, "what a great company, why on earth did you leave?". Ummm, the terrible sick-pay and I wanted to rip the heads off all honeymoon couples that I ever dealt with? "We don´t know where we want to go..." "Ok, go away and think about that, then come back please and stop wasting my day".

Enough of that, I no longer work for TF, haha! So, I got to B.A., shared a taxi with 2 other backpackers on my flight, arrived at my hostel, thought, "shit", because it looked like a rundown crack den. And, hey, turns out it actually was! It was an ok hostel, I met a couple of nice British girls there, but once I walked into the communal bathroom and there was a bunch of people doing lines of coke, I thought it was probably time to leave.

I moved to Palermo, a really beautiful area of Buenos Aires, and the hostel was great! Buenos Aires is a really cool city, and great for partying the night away, but after a week it was getting a bit much, so I spent my last 4 days taking it easy, seeing Recoleta cemetery and Evita´s grave (turned out to be much harder to find than I thought it would be!), exploring the parks, doing a bit of shopping and exercising a huge amount of self-restraint in only buying 2 pairs of Havaiana flip-flops (so cheap!). And going to MALBA (an art gallery near Palermo).

Then, on Wednesday this week (2nd December), I went to the bus station and got a ticket to Rosario, 4 hours north of Buenos Aires.

And this is where this Buenos Aires blog ends...

Advertisement



5th December 2009

^^
super cool stuff Kat! so excited for you - glad you moved out of the crack den - look forward to your next post ps - i've been blogging/live-journaling for two years now so it's not uncool though somehow you do feel it's necessary to add a comedic/semi -witty aspect to it!
3rd April 2010

The POO bit makes it incredibly glamorous... It's good to get inside info to avoid crack dens in Buenos Aires! ;-) -Raja

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb