The other side of Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
August 20th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been a while since my last blog entry and in the meantime I have started the volunteer programm. After enjoying 3 weeks of the touristy side of BsAs, I was about to learn a different side of this city. I have been travelling through many countries in this world and have seen a lot of poverty. Most of the time you just see the poor people on the street but not what is happening behind these streets. This time I got the opportunity not only to better understand and learn what actully is done (or not) to help the poor people of a country but also to be hands on where help is needed.

One of BsAs quarter, La Boca, is known for football but also the famouse colored houses in El Caminito. Every day a lot of tourist travel to this site to take pictures and see PorteƱos dancing Tango on the street. However, just across the road is the area less known to tourist, full of people who are not able to make a living for themself without the support from the Government or charity organisation. I was given the opportunity to visit this area with a guy, who grew up there and still lives there. As we were about to cross the street to get to the area, we were stopped by the police as it is too dangerouse for tourist to go there. As the guy explained that he is local and knows his way around, they let us pass. The guy gave me a lot of insights about the past of the area, what is happening today and the plans for the future. As with many places in the world, due to yellow fever the rich people escaped and only the poor remained fighting with the illness and poverty following it. Today they try to make a living for themselfs but as it was explained to me, it is hard to escape a family where being poor is given. Still with some support they are able to improve the standard of living but unfortunately the government is planning to turn the area into a new tourist attraction and all the people living there are supposed to be moved further out, away from the city, away from where they can be seen.....

During my volunteering here I went to the kitchen in a community center where breakfast and lunch was prepared every day and food was given out to families in need. It was a great experience to see how these people live on a lot less but can make a good living out of it, to see that help is given and appreciated and to talk (even though my Spanish might not have beem good enough) them and hear their stories. I even got the opportunity to share some Mate (local tea), which is usually only done with friends and relatives. Later I spent some time with the kids returning from school and waiting for their parents, helping them with their homework.

On the other hand I have been asked to go to the a private school to give the local teachers some support when teaching English. It was quite a big gap between these two tasks but I loved to spend some time with the kids and see how lessons are given in school in BsAs. During the days I was teaching I spend some time with 1st up to 4th grade students. In the first hour I was questioned about my favourite sport, food and place to travel and it was quite funny to hear, what they are interested in.

My time in BsAs is coming to an end for now. I will be leaving to Brazil and on the way to Florianopolis, Brazil, I will be visiting the Foz de Iguazu. I am looking forward to see more of South America an also experience more of the other side....

(Pictures will follow later...)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb