Welcome to Brazil - Foz de Iguazu and Florianopolis


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Santa Catarina » Florianópolis
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After 5 weeks in Buenos Aires and some cold weather, I was ready for sunshine and an increase in temperature! I left Buenos Aires on an overnight coach to Foz de Iguazu, the famouse waterfalls on the border to Brazil and Paraguay. The bus journey was actually very comfortable as the seats were nearly as a seat in the first class compartment in a plane! So I kind of arrived relaxed and with enough sleep in Port de Iguazu, where sun was shining and 25 C welcomed me, dropped off the luaggage in the hostel I stayed for the night and went off to see the falls together with 2 other girls, who were on the trip as well! It took about 45 minutes until we reached the entrance to the National Park and another 30 minutes until we looked down Devils Throat! Standing on top of the falls, looking down where the water was crashing down into the massive gorge was quite impressive! We spent the afternoon walking around the park and taking too many pictures of the falls, but it had to be, it is unbelivable and very beautiful (more pics on Facebook). We have been told that due to flooding the river and falls carry a lot of water currently!

The next day it was time to cross the border to Brazil! We went by bus to the other side, which was an easy way and arrived savely at the bus terminus, where we stored the luggage before we headed to the Brazilien side of the Foz de Iguazu falls. It is an absolut must to see both side of the falls, as the view is different! We spent another half day walking around in the National Park and enjoying the astonishing views and have close encounters with the falls.

Now it was time for the 2nd of 3 parts of my volunteer project. I got on a bus to Florianopolis, where I will be working in Creche (Day Care Center) for 2 weeks, teaching English. Arriving in Florianopolis I not only got welcomed by my local host but also by rain. Therefore I spent the first day more or less in the flat I was staying for the time here, and discovered the shopping center. Florianopolis did not leave a good first impression with this kind of weather, but thankfully it cleared up the next day and sun was back for the remaining 2 weeks. Starting two days later me and 2 other girls went to the Creche and taught all levels of kids English! I have never been teaching before so it took me a while to get into it. But the kids are sooo cute and some of them were really willing to learn. I had so much fun with them, playing and trying to teach them a few words in English. And I guess I had the advantage to learn a few words in Portugues from them as well :-)
The weekends were dedicated to the beach, Florianopolis lying on a island has 42 beaches and it was a must to visit one or two of them! The sun was out and temparture just right to enjoy the blue sky, beach and a refreshing local drink :-) The city itself has not much to offer (Lonely Planet only describes 4 sights to see), but once you get to the beaches, you know why people are coming here!

Today it is time to get to the big cities in Brazil, Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro. Another 12 hour overnight bus will bring us to Sao Paulo where I will stay for the weekend before heading to Rio on Sunday! I am looking forward to discover the cities and spend more time with bubbling kids at another Creche!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb