Arrived!


Advertisement
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

BUENOS AIRES! After a rocky start to the trip (my TV didn’t work on the 9 hr. flight), I arrived in BA yesterday morning. Unseasonably cold weather greeted me, with news of snow in Cordoba and Mendoza. My first taste of Argentina came with the boarding of AA flight 943. No other people in the world would make such a dramatic scene about boarding a plane.

The people here are amazing! Always talking, with elaborate hand gestures to support the most simple phrases and declarations. Soon I will be wringing my hands as if the apocalypse was tomorrow when I discuss how I haven’t cut my toenails in 5 days. Today was the grand tour. La Casa Rosada is beautiful and Las Madres de la Plaza de Mayo are still very moving almost 3 decades later. We also took a little bus tour through La Boca and what a place it is! I made sure to voice my adamant support for River Plata whenever I saw some surly looking young men.

Also ate my first steak in sometime. I could just feel my arteries clogging up with all the fat! And now my stomach really really hurts. Veganism truly should be a 21st century agenda. My heart hurts for all of the innocent cows slaughtered for the excessive amounts of steak and leather here. Oh well, once they learn about Ghandi, then maybe they will change their ways. But for now, homophobia, anti-Semitism, and racism are still alive… not to mention a cow holocaust.


Tonight we hit LA DISCOTECA. I have been practicing my moves in front of the mirror for some time now. Wish me luck. Hopefully 3 rounds of yerba mate will put me at an adequate state of cracked-out jitteryness that will hopefully translate itself into dancing.

So,
Goodbye and Good night
CIAO


Advertisement



24th July 2009

Cam! It all sounds amazing! I can't believe you ate a steak!! Good luck with your meat eating habits. I'm glad that you are doing this, please keep it up!! Also take some pictures or something!!!!! Love, hav

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb