Argentina


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow. The last leg of my South American journey.

Writing to you from the centre of Buenos Aires, party capital of the world! The atmosphere here is electric. But it has been a while since I wrote so will update you on the last week first.

Left San Pedro de Atacama last Friday with an American traveller towards Salta. The bus ride was...interesting. The scenery on the way was just incredible. We travelled through the desert and the mountains into Argentina then along to Salvador de Jujuy. When we got there the bus stopped in an odd looking compound. The bus driver got off and we had no idea what was going on. After an hour of waiting, we all had to get off and be searched for drugs with dogs etc. Apparently someone had tipped the Argentinian police off that someone was bringing a load of drugs into the country that day so every vehicle was searched. After another hour we were on the way to Salta.

Salta is a beautiful city, with some gorgeous architecture. We spent a couple of days just soaking it all in. On the first night we went with a group of about 6 Europeans to a steak restaurant where we had probably the best steak so far. It was absolutely massive.
From Salta I hired a car with two English graduates and we headed south in convoy with the others to Cafayate. There we completed wine tours of the Bodegas (free wine, yum) and probably the most intense trek (free fall rock climbing included) of my life. Scary times.

From Cafayate we went north up to Cachi where we went Artesan shopping and to the cemetry which looks over the town. We arrived back in Salta the next morning and I booked my bus to Buenos Aires.
The bus ride was the best I have had so far. For the fist four and a half hours I had the whole two floors to myself, and was waited on hand and foot by the young conductor. After more people joined in Tucuman we had a hot dinner and slept, arriving in BA at about 10am. Got to the hostel, met my friend David, and just chilled out.

Once again apologies for the lack of detail, I have next to no time but I could write five times as much. You will have to ask me lots of questions and see my pics when I get back next Wednesday.
Off for another steak and possibly some Latin music (Reggaeton and Tango Electronica being highlights) in some bars in Palermo. Then tango for the next two nights!
Ciao xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb