Leaving South America and Summaries


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Sussex » Haywards Heath
July 16th 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Apologies for the week delay in this post! I want to update you on the last couple of days of my trip then provide a summary 😊

So my last few days were spent visiting Recoleta Cemetry, La Boca and the amazing weekend markets of Palermo and San Telmo. The atmosphere on a weekend is truly amazing...the whole city has roads blocked off for the huge markets that take place.

I also decided to try my hand at tango. Turned up on the Sunday to a Milonga/lesson...was given a partner and with no instruction told to get on with it! The teacher didn't speak any English but luckily I was paired with a rather nice young Argentinian gentleman called Facundo who also spoke French! So he taught me the basics and we went from there!
The lesson really wasn't a lesson, but it was loads of fun. Facundo bought me a Fermenta and coke (Argentine spirit...quite nice) and we ended up going out that night.
The next night was also spent at tango...unfortunately this time with lots of English people. English people can't dance. oh well.
So on my last night we went out to a club opposite the hostel and stayed there all night...perfect as it meant I could sleep on the plane home.

Summaries

Best Places visited:
*Bolivian Salt Flats
*Iguazu
*Pantanal
*Rio de Janeiro
*Buenos Aires


Best Activities:
*Stargazing in San Pedro
*Pihrana fishing in the Pantanal
*Tango/Markets in Buenos Aires
*Wine Tours in Cafayate
*Parties in Rio
*Rapids/going for a shower at Iguazu


Nastiest Experiences:
*18 hour bus journey from Santa Cruz to Sucre with one toilet stop
*Crossing border from Brazil to Bolivia
*3 Hours at Argentina Drug Control
*Beggars in Bolivia
*Traveller's sickness


Some of my Top Tips for Travellers in South America:


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb