I Made it!!!!


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'M HERE!! Its so amazing and overwhelming and wonderful and confusing all at once!

I don't know where to start! Ok, I'm at the hostel. On the computer at the hostel BECUASE i brought the WRONG converter!! I shleeped that heavy heavy laptop and now none of my plugs fit in the wall. Very very very frustating.

From the beginning more or less. I can't belive how small the BsAs airport is. I mean, this is supposed to be a vibrant, thriving metropolis where is everyone question mark

They were stoppping everyone to emphasize washing hands and not sharing utensils etc because of the flu. I couldn't believe how many people were wearing masks on the plane and in the airport...

After customs I took the Manuel Tienda Leon bus * I was surprised how easy it was there was only really one bus anyway it said the name on the side of the bus in big huge letters. And there was only one ticket selling kiosk it was for Manuel Tienda Leon, and I didn't know but, everyone goes to the same place. I showed the ticket seller my ticket AND the driver AND the baggage guy I showed them all my guesthouse address to make SURE I was going to end up in the right place. Anyhoo, it didn't matter. The bus stopped and EVERYONE got off so I got off, too. Ha ha ha I didn't even know where I was!

I asked one guy who got off the bus with me habla inglis? he said a little so I asked how to get to and I showed him the address. He told me his sister lived in Austrailia and we chatted a bit in English. He said to take a taxi and that the guys from Manuel Tienda Leon would call a taxi for me. So I went inside and chatted w those guys bit in Spanish while I waited for the taxi.

The taxi came. Thank god. I really had too much stuff even if it was only cinco cuadras, five blocks. The taxi I was sure was taking a slow route maybe I gave him a dirty look and he said something about the cashe being cut by the police. I was thinking what is he talking about? La cashe?? I looked and I saw the steet was blocked by the police. The street. He had been saying the street was blocked. Maybe he had thought I was from Italy and tried to tell me in Italian, I thought.

Taxi dropped me off, ciao ciao that's what they say here, pointed in the direction of the hostel. But I of course, could NOT find it. I was walking and walking and walking and cursing all of this effing luggage. Finally I asked a guy on the did he know where this address is? He grabbed my bag the heavy one up in his arms and took it for me all the way back to the hostel. Yep, I had passed it. THANK GOD! I tried to pay him, he said either--it's a pleasure of Argentina -- or it's a favor of Argentina --I'm not sure which, but WHATEVER. In any case, it was super nice of him.

more later

Advertisement



4th May 2009

Mazel Tov
Charise ~ I am so glad you have made it safely and are settling in! Remember, to avoid swine flu, do not kiss any piggies! We look forward to hearing more about your latest adventures. Travel safe, Much love, Jodi

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb