Evita in Buenos Aires


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 31st 2009
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Evita´s tombEvita´s tombEvita´s tomb

It is a bit disappointing when you compare the gothic statues of the other tombs. I think they should decorate her shrine and give it more impact.
I am back in this handsome city. Yesterday I got ticket for flight to Iguazu Falls today. It will be interesting trying to get city bus to domestic airport.
Later:
Seems I am always shortchanging Buenos Aires when it comes to text or photos. The city is great on its own and it doesn´t need my extra compliments.
Currently, I am sweating buckets sitting at computer in Iguazu Falls. It is hellishly hot and humid here and I better think I have visited a world wonder tomorrow when I do the tourist thing and go to the falls. This place is not cheap.
I will let the photos and comments speak for themselves. Meanwhile....I am melting!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Back in B ABack in B A
Back in B A

Yup, I am back in Buenos Aires enjoying this handsome city
TombsTombs
Tombs

The highlight of the day was going to Recoleta´s graveyard to find Evita and to ponder about the decorations for death
Argentina ShrineArgentina Shrine
Argentina Shrine

I started the day at the cathedral in main plaza with the tomb for independence (in previous blog, I think)
JesuitsJesuits
Jesuits

Then I walked to Recolecta, to Jesuit church with cloister converted into museum
Street signStreet sign
Street sign

Some info about historic area
ViewView
View

Veiw from cloisure museum window of the tombs in Recolleta graveyard.
Jesuit treasuresJesuit treasures
Jesuit treasures

Silver and gold no doubt from this area.
Hotel BolivarHotel Bolivar
Hotel Bolivar

My hotel room is second white door
CourtyardCourtyard
Courtyard

Above my hotel door, open sky. Nice courtyard to have breakfast and meet other travelers.
Open showersOpen showers
Open showers

Typical bathrooms in this area
GraveyardGraveyard
Graveyard

Interesting tourist site
CatsCats
Cats

Reminds me of Istanbul, lots of cats sleeping amongst shrines.
StacksStacks
Stacks

Hmmm, guess they weren´t as important as the families in the tombs?
InsideInside
Inside

Some tombs had glass doors so you could see coffins stacked and the dust on things, and the downstairs with more coffin and drains.....
DustDust
Dust

After half an hour walking in graveyard I got the desire to go home and throw out every souveneer and momento that is a dust magnet. Life is for living
CityCity
City

Meanwhile, the city is alive and well and expanding beyond the graveyard walls.
ShoppingShopping
Shopping

Then I went shopping....a nice distraction from the philosophy of eternity
AirAir
Air

Trendy stores have air conditioning. Did I mention the hellishly hot weather we are having in Buenos Aires??
PinkPink
Pink

Real men wear pink, Gareth. ha ha
Nobel BuildingsNobel Buildings
Nobel Buildings

Every corner downtown has nobel buildings


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb