The beginning...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 24th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!
So I have officially been in Buenos Aires for 3 days and I am already in LOVE with this city 😊
I will make a proper update soon, and will add photos sometime this week - for now I just wanted to get started and let you all know how to keep track of me over the next few months!

Besos,
Anna


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Home Sweet Home!Home Sweet Home!
Home Sweet Home!

These are a few pictures from the balcony of the apartment where I'm staying. It overlooks a cute little park (Plaza Rodriguez Pena) and is SUPER centrally located, which is really nice. Also theres a great little hole-in-the-wall heladeria (ice cream shop) on the corner, which is always a plus...
The yellow houseThe yellow house
The yellow house

This was a very useful landmark for orienting myself during my first few days here...
Argentine Yacht ClubArgentine Yacht Club
Argentine Yacht Club

On my first full day in Argentina, I started off by taking a mini-driving tour of the city with my "madre" (Alicia) and my "hermana" (Sofia). Alicia's husband (now deceased) was a member of the Argentine Yacht Club, and it is one of their favorite places to spend sunny afternoons. They brought me in to show me some of their favorite sights there.
Very cool building...Very cool building...
Very cool building...

This is one of the main buildings at the Yacht Club - on the inside, there's a bar, some dining rooms, and a little reading room/library, among other things. BUT the most interesting part is that the building was made to look like a boat (or certain parts of a boat?) and thus has this fantastic, semi-cathedral like appearance. The inside also has lots of dark wood walls, small spiral staircases, and brass fixtures (like the inside of a boat...get it?)
Que linda!Que linda!
Que linda!

looking back across the water at Puerto Madero
Mi familia!Mi familia!
Mi familia!

Sofia (my "sister") is on the left, Alicia (my "mom") on the right :)
Cafe Filippo!Cafe Filippo!
Cafe Filippo!

This is our official "meeting corner" - also the site of our first lunch out in BsAs (conveniently located only a block from my house...told you I had a great location!)


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb