Chao Brasil.Hola Argentina.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 17th 2009
Published: March 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, after much much thinking, I decided to hold off on living in Rio....for now. Funds are running low and I prefer to explore new countries at this time instead of being stuck somewhere where I would have to get a job. A job? No, not ready for that just yet. My last stop in Brazil was the Iguazu Falls. The falls are awesome! They can be viewed from both Brazil and Argentina. If you're going to visit these falls, start in Brazil first, then Argentina. The view from the Argentina side is a lot better. The falls and amount of water that passes through is impressive. In Argentina, we had to visit the park in two days. Because of its size, we didn't have time to visit all the falls in one day.

After Iguazu Falls, we made our way down to Buenos Aires. While in Brazil, Homer and I met, Elijah. An American from San Fran who was traveling by himself. Since we were all heading the same way with the same schedules, we decided to just travel together until Buenos Aires. The city itself is cool, but surprisingly it doesn't have much going. You can visit the interesting sites in just a few days. You don't need more than a week. One interesting place I visited was Recoleta Cemetery where Eva PerĂ³n is buried. The cemetery contains elaborate marble mausoleums, most containing important Argentinian presidents, doctors, scientists, etc. It was a bit eerie being there. I got an overwhelming feeling of sadness, so I had to leave after exploring for about half an hour.

This is where Homer and I departed, after traveling together for 4 months. It was time. He headed northwest and I east to Uruguay. I was looking forward to traveling by myself again. One gets to reflect on life with a better focus when alone.

With the funds running low, I am traveling at a quicker pace. Yeah, I think it's time to start heading back to Texas. But for the time being, there are still many more countries to explore.

adios,
alex




Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Adios Brasil.Adios Brasil.
Adios Brasil.

Trying to put on my sad face, but it looks more like a duck's.
Dinner TimeDinner Time
Dinner Time

First dinner in Argentina. Damn good!
Iguazu Falls ParkIguazu Falls Park
Iguazu Falls Park

Argentina side. Lost my Brazil side photos. Sucks.
Destroyed BridgeDestroyed Bridge
Destroyed Bridge

Bridge destroyed by a flood in 1992 at Iguazu Falls.
Iguazu FallsIguazu Falls
Iguazu Falls

Amazing!


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb