Center and South of the Center


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
February 4th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Torre de los InglesesTorre de los InglesesTorre de los Ingleses

I didn't realize I got there right a noon, but that worked out pretty well
For those of you who are worried about having to read this everyday, I think I'll slow down once the school starts, but for right now I'm just seeing something new and interesting everyday.
Today was downtown and south of it-I'm just to the north. That area includes all of the major buildings like the casa de gobierno, which is sort of like the white house. I'll have pictures of the buildings and more of the parks I saw.
Downtown was more of a tourist area, and I finally saw people with cameras. There were also a lot more people handing stuff out and more homeless people who would repeatedly ask for money. I went into a large mall, but it wasn't anything that interesting, most of the stores were american, and there are more around me that are more authentic and of the area.
I also got to see Rio De La Plata and the Constanera Sur, which is an ecological reserve. It was a landfill that started growing plants and was inhabited by many different animals. It was very pretty and didn't smell at all. In the pictures you'll see the animals I saw, and the views of the
MonumentMonumentMonument

This was across from the torre de los Inglese, and had armed guards. It was also the first time I saw the Argentine flag hung.
city it offered. From this point it was easier to see a skyline, which was nice.
My legs are killing me from all of the walking, so tomorrow might be a little more relaxed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Santa Catalina de SienaSanta Catalina de Siena
Santa Catalina de Siena

This photo mosaic was on the side of a church.
HummingbirdHummingbird
Hummingbird

A hummingbird on the Costanera Sur.
LizardLizard
Lizard

This is one of the lizards I saw on the Costanera Sur. They were a pretty good size, and there were others that I couldn't get a picture of, but were only two or three inches
Rio De La PlataRio De La Plata
Rio De La Plata

My map doesn't show if it is or isn't, but I sure think this looks like the ocean.
Some sort of RodentSome sort of Rodent
Some sort of Rodent

Again on Costanera Sur. This was the only one I saw.
Laguna de los PatosLaguna de los Patos
Laguna de los Patos

This was one of the lakes I was walking around. Every so often the grass would move and I could hear something larger, but never saw anything.
Casa de GobiernoCasa de Gobierno
Casa de Gobierno

From the front. I'm standing in the plaza de mayo-may was their month of independence.
National BankNational Bank
National Bank

Right across from the Casa de Gobierno.
Plaza de MayoPlaza de Mayo
Plaza de Mayo

The last three pictures were taken from the same spot, just turning to the left.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb